Mera Island Lobuche Peak Climbing in 30 Days
Mera Island Lobuche peak climbing on this listing means three summits in one 30-day private trip with Wilder Way Trekking & Expedition, priced at $7,773 per person. You climb Mera Peak at 6,476 m, Island Peak at 6,189 m and Lobuche Peak at 6,119 m, starting and ending in Kathmandu with a Lukla flight at each end of both halves. The listing is new and has no reviews yet, so this page sets out exactly what the price covers, what you pay extra, the day-by-day route and who should book a shorter single-peak trip instead. Compare it with the other Mount Everest climbing tours.
About This Tour
Wilder Way Trekking & Expedition runs this as a private trip of 30 days. You start in Kathmandu, fly to Lukla, trek the remote Hinku side to Mera Peak and climb Mera on day 12, then return to Lukla and Kathmandu before flying back in for the Khumbu side. Island Peak is scheduled for day 24 and Lobuche Peak for day 27, with a free buffer day in Kathmandu on day 29.
The price of $7,773 per person covers permits, internal flights, teahouse lodging on the trek, tents on the climbing days, meals on the trail and in camp, a lead guide and Sherpa support, and 4 nights in a Kathmandu guest house with breakfast. It is a new listing with no reviews yet, so read the terms and message the operator before booking.
$7,773 per person. It covers peak permits, internal flights, meals on trek and in camp, teahouses, tents, guides and 4 Kathmandu nights with breakfast.
30 days, with the Mera climb planned for day 12, Island Peak for day 24 and Lobuche Peak for day 27.
Kathmandu, with international airport pickup and drop-off as per your flight time.
Mera Peak summit at 6,476 m as the listing gives it, with other sources printing 6,470 m or 6,461 m. Island Peak is 6,189 m and Lobuche Peak 6,119 m.
International airfare, Nepal visa, travel insurance, meals in Kathmandu, personal clothing and climbing gear, extra nights for any reason, personal expenses and tips.
Free cancellation up to 24 hours before departure for a full refund. Reserve now and pay later is offered.
Check Dates and Availability
Starting times are shown when you check availability. The operator asks you to message on WhatsApp before booking for more detail.
Quick answer Several peaks, 30 days, $7,773
Mera Island Lobuche peak climbing on this listing costs $7,773 per person and runs 30 days, taking in Mera Peak at 6,476 m, Island Peak at 6,189 m and Lobuche Peak at 6,119 m. Permits, internal flights, meals on trek and in camp, teahouses, tents and guide support are included. International flights, insurance, Kathmandu meals and your own gear are not. The listing is new with no reviews yet.
Key takeaways
- Compare it with Island Peak and EBC Climb, a 20-day trip that pairs one summit with base camp.
- See the full Mera, Island and Lobuche route day by day before you commit.
- One peak costs far less: Island Peak Climbing is a 14-day trip at $1,250.
- Check who this trip rules out, including under 16s and people with altitude sickness.
What the Price Actually Covers
The $7,773 per person price covers a lot, but several real costs sit outside it. Here is the split, exactly as the listing states it.
Included and Excluded
The inclusions are broad. You get all internal airfares as per the itinerary with transfers, all peak permit fees, the garbage deposit and trek permit fees, all meals during the trekking period and all meals in camp during the climbing period, twin-sharing teahouse or lodge beds on the trek, high quality twin-sharing tents for the climbing period, and a Kathmandu guest house or similar for 4 nights with breakfast. Guiding is one lead guide plus a Sherpa guide at 1 to 3 clients on bigger groups, with the climbing guide summit bonus, wages and insurance paid by the operator.
The honest note: what is left out still costs money. International airfare, the Nepal visa and travel insurance, meals in Kathmandu, your own clothing and climbing gear, any extra night in Kathmandu or on the trek for any reason, personal expenses and tips are all excluded. Budget for them before you book, and message the operator on WhatsApp as the listing asks, so nothing is assumed.
| Line | In the price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Internal flights | Yes | All internal airfares as per the itinerary, with transfers |
| Permits | Yes | All peak permit fees, garbage deposit and trek permit fees |
| Meals on trek and in camp | Yes | Breakfast, lunch, dinner with tea, coffee and boiled water |
| Accommodation | Yes | Teahouses on trek, twin tents when climbing, 4 Kathmandu nights with breakfast |
| Guides | Yes | Lead guide and Sherpa guide at 1 to 3 clients on bigger groups, bonus and insurance paid |
| International airfare | No | Buy your own flights to and from Nepal |
| Visa and insurance | No | Nepal visa on arrival and travel insurance are yours to arrange |
| Meals in Kathmandu | No | Only breakfast at the guest house is covered |
| Personal gear | No | Bring warm clothing, rain gear, climbing gear and warm shoes |
| Extra nights and tips | No | Delays and early returns are charged extra, tips are at your discretion |
Sources: Wikipedia, Mount Everest, Wikipedia, Sagarmatha National Park
Lobuche East from the southeast. Photo: Theprotrekker, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons
The Route Day by Day
The itinerary runs 30 days and divides into a Mera half through the Hinku valley and a Khumbu half for Island and Lobuche peaks, with a return to Kathmandu between them. Heights below are the ones the listing gives.
Mera Section, Days 1 to 17
Days 1 and 2 are arrival, preparation and briefing in Kathmandu. Day 3 flies to Lukla and the trek starts towards Paiya, then moves through Panggom, Ningsow, Chhatra Khola, Kothe and Thangnak to Khare on day 9. Day 10 is an acclimatization day at Khare, day 11 climbs to Mera High Camp and day 12 is the Mera Peak summit day at 6,476 m, returning to Khare. The walk out goes through Kothe and Thuli Kharka, crossing the Zatrwa La Pass back to Lukla on day 15. Day 16 flies to Kathmandu and day 17 is rest and preparation.
The listing says the itinerary builds in plenty of acclimatization before Mera base camp, and the trek to Khare on days 3 to 9 plus the rest day on day 10 back that up. Weather still decides whether the summit happens.
| Day | Route | Height |
|---|---|---|
| 1-2 | Arrival, preparation and briefing in Kathmandu | not stated |
| 3 | Fly to Lukla, trek to Paiya | not stated |
| 4-9 | Panggom, Ningsow, Chhatra Khola, Kothe, Thangnak, Khare | not stated |
| 10 | Acclimatization day at Khare | not stated |
| 11 | Trek to Mera High Camp | not stated |
| 12 | Climb Mera Peak, return to Khare | 6,476 m summit |
| 13-15 | Kothe, Thuli Kharka, Lukla via Zatrwa La Pass | not stated |
| 16-17 | Fly to Kathmandu, rest and preparation | not stated |
Khumbu Section, Days 18 to 30
Day 18 flies to Lukla again and treks to Phakding, then Namche Bazaar on day 19. Day 20 is the acclimatization day at Namche, then the trail runs through Tengboche to Dingboche, and day 23 reaches Chhukung with a move to Island Peak High Camp. Day 24 is the Island Peak summit at 6,189 m, returning to Chhukung. Days 25 and 26 move to Lobuche and Lobuche High Camp, with the Lobuche Peak climb on day 27 at 6,119 m, returning to Lobuche or Pheriche. Day 28 treks to Lukla and flies to Kathmandu. Day 29 is the free buffer and contingency day, and day 30 is departure.
The buffer day matters. Visibility can close the Lukla airport, so a spare day is real insurance, not padding.
| Day | Route | Height |
|---|---|---|
| 18-19 | Fly to Lukla, Phakding, Namche Bazaar | not stated |
| 20 | Acclimatization day at Namche Bazaar | not stated |
| 21-22 | Tengboche, Dingboche | not stated |
| 23 | Chhukung and Island Peak High Camp | not stated |
| 24 | Climb Island Peak, return to Chhukung | 6,189 m summit |
| 25-26 | Lobuche, Lobuche High Camp | not stated |
| 27 | Climb Lobuche Peak, return to Lobuche or Pheriche | 6,119 m summit |
| 28 | Trek to Lukla, fly to Kathmandu | not stated |
| 29 | Free day in Kathmandu, buffer and contingency | not stated |
| 30 | Final departure | not stated |
Who This Trip Rules Out
The listing states its own limits clearly. Read them before booking, because the $7,773 from-price does not buy away any of them.
Stated Limits
The trip is not suitable for children under 16, people over 70, people over 95, or people with altitude sickness. Fitness and experience requirements are not stated, which is itself a gap worth closing with the operator over WhatsApp before you pay. It is a private group with no stated size cap, guided in English, and alcohol and drugs are not allowed.
Money and paperwork rule people out too. The price excludes international airfare, the Nepal visa, travel insurance, Kathmandu meals and personal gear. Cancellation is free only up to 24 hours before departure. Lukla weather delays can add nights that the listing charges for separately. If the length or the altitude of this trip puts you off, single-peak trips cost less: Island Peak Climbing at $1,250 for 14 days, Mera Peak Climbing at $3,000 for about 18 days, or Island Peak and EBC Climb at $2,899 for 20 days with base camp included.
The summit of Mera Peak. Photo: Sangyam adventurer, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Altitude, Season and Paperwork
Facts worth knowing before any 6,000 m peak climb, from published sources rather than the operator.
Season and Altitude
The Everest region's trekking seasons are March to May in spring and September to November in autumn. Monsoon runs June to August, when visibility closes Lukla about half the time, and December to February closes high passes. One operator lists nights at 5,364 m on base camp routes from -17C in March to -8C in May and around -9C to -12C in October and November, so expect colder still in high camps.
Altitude sickness typically occurs above 2,500 m, with symptoms within ten hours of ascent. Common advice is to limit sleeping-altitude gain to about 300-500 m per day above 3,000 m and use climb high, sleep low. This itinerary has acclimatization days at Khare and Namche. Read more in the guide to climbing Mount Everest.
Lukla Flights and Permits
Tenzing-Hillary Airport at Lukla has a 527 m runway with an 11.7% gradient, and flights are scheduled early because southwest winds usually close it from mid to late morning. When flights divert, the drive to Ramechhap is about 130 to 140 km and 4 to 5 hours from Kathmandu, with a 12-minute flight to Lukla. The Lukla airport guide has the detail.
Permits on this trip are the operator's problem: all peak permit fees, the garbage deposit and trek permit fees are included. For reference, the revised NMA royalty for foreign climbers on peaks up to 6,500 m is $350 in spring and $175 in autumn, winter and summer, per some operator tables, while others print higher spring figures. The Nepal tourist visa on arrival is $30 for 15 days, $50 for 30 days or $125 for 90 days, and you buy it yourself because it is excluded.
Insurance
Travel insurance is excluded, so buy your own, and it must cover the heights here. Operator advice read for the region suggests coverage to at least 7,000 m for Mera Peak at 6,476 m and Island Peak at 6,189 m. Helicopter evacuation from trekking peaks above 6,000 m is quoted at roughly $10,000 to $15,000 or more.
Many agencies ask for proof even though no blanket national law requires it.
Itinerary at a Glance
The listing's own 30-day plan, compressed into phases. Day numbers are the operator's.
-
Days 1-2
Arrival
Arrive in Kathmandu for airport pickup as per your flight time, then a preparation and briefing day. You sleep in a guest house with breakfast.
-
Days 3-11
Trek in to Mera
Fly to Lukla and trek through Paiya, Panggom, Ningsow, Chhatra Khola, Kothe and Thangnak to Khare, with an acclimatization day at Khare before moving to Mera High Camp.
-
Day 12
Mera summit day
Climb Mera Peak at 6,476 m and return to Khare. Weather and conditions decide the summit, as on any peak.
-
Days 13-17
Walk out and reset
Trek out via Kothe and Thuli Kharka over the Zatrwa La Pass to Lukla, fly to Kathmandu and take a rest and preparation day.
-
Days 18-24
Trek in and Island Peak
Fly to Lukla again, trek via Phakding and Namche Bazaar with an acclimatization day, continue through Tengboche and Dingboche to Chhukung, and climb Island Peak at 6,189 m on day 24.
-
Days 25-28
Lobuche summit and return
Move to Lobuche and its high camp, climb Lobuche Peak at 6,119 m on day 27, then trek to Lukla and fly to Kathmandu on day 28.
-
Days 29-30
Buffer and departure
A free contingency day in Kathmandu absorbs delays, then final departure.
Pros and Cons
An honest read of one listing among several on this site.
What we genuinely like
- Three summits, Mera 6,476 m, Island 6,189 m and Lobuche 6,119 m, in one continuous 30-day plan
- Permits, internal flights, trek meals, camp meals, teahouses and tents are all in the $7,773 price
- Two built-in acclimatization days at Khare and Namche Bazaar, plus a buffer day on day 29
- Private group with a lead guide and a Sherpa ratio of 1 to 3 clients on bigger groups
- Free cancellation up to 24 hours before departure, with reserve now and pay later
The honest downsides
- The listing is new and has no reviews yet, so there are no past-client reports to read before you commit
- International flights, visa, insurance, Kathmandu meals, personal gear, extra nights and tips all cost extra on top of $7,773
- Extra nights caused by Lukla delays or early returns are charged separately, and Lukla flights can be cancelled in poor visibility
- The operator asks you to message on WhatsApp before booking, so details you would expect on the page are not there
- Not suitable for anyone under 16, over 70, over 95, or with altitude sickness, and no fitness or experience level is stated
Who it's NOT for: Not for first-time trekkers on a budget, who would get more value from a single-peak trip such as Island Peak Climbing at $1,250.
Questions About This Three Peaks Trip
How much does the Mera, Island and Lobuche trip cost?
The listing prices it at $7,773 per person for 30 days. Permits, internal flights, trek and camp meals, teahouses, tents and guides are included, while international airfare, visa, insurance, Kathmandu meals and personal gear are not. Compare it with Island Peak and EBC Climb at $2,899 for one summit plus base camp.
Is this a good first Himalayan climb?
The listing states no fitness or experience requirement, which is a gap, and the altitude reaches 6,476 m on Mera. Ask the operator what experience it expects. A gentler entry point is Island Peak Climbing, a 14-day trip to 6,189 m.
Does the price include flights and permits?
Yes. All internal airfares as per the itinerary with transfers are included, along with all peak permit fees, the garbage deposit and trek permit fees. Only international airfare is excluded. For background on the Lukla leg, see the Lukla airport guide.
When are the three summits climbed?
The itinerary has Mera Peak on day 12 at 6,476 m, Island Peak on day 24 at 6,189 m and Lobuche Peak on day 27 at 6,119 m, with a buffer day on day 29. Weather decides each summit day. Read the route day by day for the full plan.
Can I climb just one of the peaks instead?
Yes, and it costs far less. Mera Peak Climbing is an 18-day trip at $3,000 through the Hinku valleys with climbing gear and permits included. You lose the variety of three summits and the Khumbu valley section.
What insurance do I need for this trip?
Travel insurance is excluded, so arrange your own, and it must cover the altitudes on the route. Operator guidance read for the region suggests coverage to at least 7,000 m for peaks like Mera at 6,476 m. The climbing Mount Everest guide covers the wider planning.
Why does the operator ask me to message before booking?
The listing asks you to WhatsApp the operator before booking for more detailed information. Given that the listing is new with no reviews and states no fitness level or group size, that conversation matters, so ask about gear, insurance proof and delay costs before paying. Then check the platform terms on the Everest tours.
Prices, availability and terms are set by the operator and confirmed at checkout.
We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure