Everest Climbing ToursAn Independent Guide Check Availability

Everest Base Camp Lodge Trek: 14 Days, Lodge to Lodge

5.0/5 1,134 Viator reviews From $1,475 per person14 daysFree cancellation 24h

Sold and operated by Nepal Hiking Team. Booked and paid through Viator. We may earn a commission if you book through our link, at no extra cost to you. Price and details checked 2026-10-17.

The Everest Base Camp lodge trek run by Nepal Hiking Team costs $1,475 per person and takes 14 days door to door from Kathmandu. Round-trip flights to Lukla via Ramechhap, all trek permits, two Kathmandu hotel nights and full board on the trail are in the price. You sleep in lodges each night rather than tents, with one guide leading and one porter carrying for every two trekkers. The highest point is Everest Base Camp at 5,364 m (17,594 ft), and the route also climbs Kala Patthar for the view. This page covers what the price covers, the day-by-day route, who the trip does not suit, and how it compares with other base camp treks on the list of Everest climbing tours.

Everest and Lhotse lit orange at sunset above prayer flags on an Everest climbing tour to Everest Base Camp, Nepal
5.0★1,134 reviews
$1,475per person
14 daysduration
Freecancellation 24
Check Availability

About This Tour

Nepal Hiking Team sells this trek on Viator, where it holds a 5.0 rating from 1,134 reviews. The 14 days break into two Kathmandu hotel nights, lodge nights along the Khumbu trail, and a final departure day. You walk to Everest Base Camp at 5,364 m (17,594 ft) and back, sleeping in twin-share lodge rooms each night.

The booking needs at least 2 people and takes up to 15 per booking. Passport details are required at booking for every participant, so have the name, number, expiry and country ready before you check out.

Price per person
$1,475, covering Lukla flights via Ramechhap with transfers, all trek permits, two 3-star Kathmandu hotel nights, lodge accommodation on the trail and full board during the trek
Duration
14 days, with day 1 arrival in Kathmandu and day 14 departure
Start point
Kathmandu, with airport and hotel pickup by car, then a drive to Ramechhap for the flight to Lukla
Highest point
Everest Base Camp, 5,364 m (17,594 ft). The route also visits Kala Patthar, for which the listing prints no usable height
Paid extra
Travel insurance, international airfares, Nepal entry visa (USD 40 for 30 days on arrival), drinks, snacks, hot showers during the trek, personal trekking equipment and tips for staff and drivers. No mandatory extras are stated
Cancellation
Full refund if you cancel at least 24 hours before departure. The policy also covers cancellation for bad weather and too few travelers
Quick answer Cost, length and what is included

This everest base camp lodge trek costs $1,475 per person, runs 14 days from Kathmandu and reaches Everest Base Camp at 5,364 m (17,594 ft). Lukla flights via Ramechhap, permits, two Kathmandu hotel nights, lodge nights and full board on the trail are included.

Key takeaways

What the Price Actually Covers

The $1,475 catalog price is per person and covers a lot, because the Lukla flights and transfers sit inside it. The table below sets the inclusions against what you still pay for yourself, taken from the operator's own listing.

Included in the $1,475

The price includes the round-trip flight to and from Lukla via Ramechhap with transfers, all required trek permits, two nights in a 3-star Kathmandu hotel, twin-share lodge accommodation on the trek, full board with tea or coffee during the trek, a trekking map and an achievement certificate, government taxes, a first aid kit, seasonal fruit on the trail, and airport pickup and drop-off by car. A certified English-speaking guide leads, and one porter carries up to 25 kg for every two trekkers, with a water and wind proof duffel provided. A vegetarian meal option is available if you ask at booking.

Private bathrooms with hot showers are promised at Phakding, Namche Bazaar and Lukla only. The listing counts hot showers during the trek among the exclusions, so expect to pay for any hot shower outside those three places.

LineIn the priceNotes
Lukla flightsYesRound trip via Ramechhap, transfers included
Trek permitsYesAll required permits for the trek
Kathmandu hotelYesTwo nights, 3-star
Lodge nightsYesTwin share, private bathrooms and hot showers at Phakding, Namche and Lukla
MealsYesFull board with tea or coffee during the trek, vegetarian on request
Guide and porterYes1 guide and 1 porter per 2 trekkers, a 25 kg carry limit for two
Travel insuranceNoBuy your own, covering helicopter evacuation
Nepal visaNoUSD 40 for 30 days on arrival
Drinks and snacksNoHot and cold drinks, snacks and personal expenses
Hot showers on trekNoOnly Phakding, Namche and Lukla are promised showers
GearNoPersonal trekking equipment, though a duffel is provided
TipsNoTips for trekking staff and drivers

Inclusions and exclusions quoted from the operator's Viator listing.

Trekkers and yaks on the trail at Orsho on Everest climbing tours to base camp, Nepal

Trekkers and yaks on the trail near Orsho. Photo: Superikonoskop, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons

The Route Day by Day

The listing's own itinerary runs from arrival in Kathmandu to the flight back and departure 14 days later. Heights below are the figures the itinerary prints, with base camp given as 5,364 m (17,594 ft). The Kala Patthar height in the listing does not fit the rest of the itinerary and is not repeated here.

The Trail, Stop by Stop

Day 1 is arrival in Kathmandu. Day 2 drives to Ramechhap and flies to Lukla, then walks 8 km in about 3 hours to Phakding at 8,699 ft. Day 3 climbs 10 to 12 km over roughly 6 hours to Namche Bazaar at 11,283 ft. Day 4 is an acclimatisation day with a 3 to 4 km hike toward Everest View Hotel at 12,995 ft, taking 3 to 4 hours.

Day 5 walks 10 to 11 km in about 5 hours to Tengboche at 12,660 ft, and day 6 covers 11 to 12 km to Dingboche at 14,464 ft. Day 7 is the second acclimatisation day, a 5 to 6 km hike up Nagarjun hill and back in 4 to 5 hours. Day 8 reaches Lobuche at 16,105 ft after 11 to 12 km. Day 9 is the long one: 14 to 15 km in about 8 hours, trekking to Gorakshep at 16,990 ft, then to Everest Base Camp at 5,364 m (17,594 ft) and back to Gorakshep. Day 10 climbs Kala Patthar, then descends 13 to 14 km in about 7 hours to Pheriche at 4,210 m (13,810 ft). Days 11 and 12 retrace the trail to Namche and then Lukla, with the last day an 18 to 19 km, 7-hour stretch. Day 13 flies to Ramechhap and drives to Kathmandu, and day 14 is departure. There are no spare weather days in this itinerary, so a grounded Lukla flight eats into the schedule. Expect views of Everest, Lhotse and the surrounding peaks on clear days, and no view at all when cloud closes in.

DayRouteHeight
1Arrive in KathmanduNot stated
2Drive to Ramechhap, fly to Lukla, trek to Phakding, 8 km, 3 hours8,699 ft
3Trek to Namche Bazaar, 10 to 12 km, 6 hours11,283 ft
4Acclimatisation, hike to Everest View Hotel, 3 to 4 km12,995 ft
5Trek to Tengboche, 10 to 11 km, 5 hours12,660 ft
6Trek to Dingboche, 11 to 12 km, 5 hours14,464 ft
7Acclimatisation, Nagarjun hill hike, 5 to 6 kmNot stated
8Trek to Lobuche, 11 to 12 km, 5 hours16,105 ft
9Trek to Gorakshep, Everest Base Camp and back, 14 to 15 km, 8 hoursBase camp 5,364 m (17,594 ft)
10Kala Patthar, then trek to Pheriche, 13 to 14 km, 7 hoursPheriche 4,210 m (13,810 ft)
11Trek to Namche, 14 to 15 km, 7 hours11,283 ft
12Trek to Lukla, 18 to 19 km, 7 hoursNot stated
13Fly to Ramechhap, drive to KathmanduNot stated
14DepartureNot stated

Who This Trip Rules Out

The listing sets clear limits on age, fitness and health, and the from-price leaves several costs on your side of the ledger. Check each point before you book, and look at a different trek if one of them rules you out.

Limits Stated on the Listing

The booking age band runs from 15 to 70, and the operator asks for a high level of physical fitness. The listing does not recommend the trek for travelers with spinal injuries, poor cardiovascular health or pregnancy. A minimum of 2 people per booking applies, so a solo traveler must join or form a group of at least two. Passport details for every participant are required at booking, and a current valid passport is needed on the day of travel.

The $1,475 does not cover travel insurance, international airfares, the Nepal visa, drinks, snacks, hot showers on the trek, gear or tips, so budget for all of those on top. Flight times are approximate and depend on weather and weight limits. If any of this does not fit, alternatives are close at hand: the Everest Base Camp Trek 14 Days takes trekkers from age 8, the Everest Panorama Trek tops out far lower at 3,870 m (12,694 ft) over 8 days, and the EBC Trek with Helicopter Return flies you back from Gorakshep. For the full comparison, browse Everest tours.

The gate of Tengboche Monastery on Everest climbing tours in the Khumbu, Nepal

The gate of Tengboche Monastery. Photo: Vyacheslav Argenberg, CC BY 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Altitude, Season and Paperwork

The practical side of the trek: when to go, how to acclimatise, how the Lukla flights work and what permits, visa and insurance you need. Figures here come from published research sources, not from the operator.

Season and Altitude

The Everest region has two trekking seasons, March to May and September to November. Night lows at base camp (5,364 m) reach -17C in March, -8C in May, -9C in October and -12C in November, per Kandoo Adventures. Monsoon runs June to August, when visibility closes Lukla about half the time and roughly half the flights are cancelled.

Altitude sickness typically occurs above 2,500 m, and Wikipedia advises ascending no more than 300 m (1,000 ft) per day to sleep above 3,000 m, using climb high, sleep low. This itinerary's two acclimatisation days at Namche Bazaar and Dingboche exist for that reason. Walk slowly, drink plenty, and tell your guide at once if a headache or nausea sets in.

Lukla Flights and Permits

Scheduled flights to Lukla, whose runway is 527 m (1,729 ft) long with an 11.7% gradient, often operate via Ramechhap, about 140 km and roughly 5 hours by road from Kathmandu, with a 12-minute flight to Lukla. Strong southwest winds usually close the airport from mid to late morning, so flights run early. Permits for the trek are the Sagarmatha National Park entry permit at NPR 3,000 for foreigners and the Khumbu Pasang Lhamu Rural Municipality fee, listed at NPR 2,000 by some sources and NPR 3,000 since 2026 by others.

This trek includes all required permits, so you pay none of them directly. Nepal's visa on arrival costs 30 USD for 15 days, 50 USD for 30 days and 125 USD for 90 days, and the listing budget uses USD 40 for 30 days, its own figure. Buy insurance that covers helicopter evacuation, which costs roughly $3,000-$5,000 from Namche and $6,000-$10,000 or more above 5,000 m, and Himalayan Hero advises cover up to at least 6,000 m for this trek.

Read the seasonal detail in the Everest Base Camp trek guide and the flight logistics in the Lukla airport guide.

Sources: Kandoo Adventures, Himalayan Hero, Wikipedia

Your 14 Days, Phase by Phase

The phases below follow the listing's own day numbers, grouped so you can see where the hard days and the rest days sit.

  1. Days 1-2

    Arrival and the flight in

    Land in Kathmandu, sleep in the 3-star hotel, then drive to Ramechhap and fly to Lukla. Day 2 ends with the 8 km, 3-hour walk to Phakding at 8,699 ft.

  2. Days 3-4

    Trek in and acclimatise at Namche

    A 10 to 12 km day to Namche Bazaar at 11,283 ft, then a full acclimatisation day with a 3 to 4 km hike toward Everest View Hotel at 12,995 ft.

  3. Days 5-8

    Climb through Tengboche, Dingboche and Lobuche

    Five-hour stages take you to Tengboche at 12,660 ft and Dingboche at 14,464 ft, with a second acclimatisation day on Nagarjun hill before Lobuche at 16,105 ft.

  4. Days 9-10

    Base camp and Kala Patthar

    The longest day: 14 to 15 km and about 8 hours to Gorakshep, then Everest Base Camp at 5,364 m (17,594 ft) and back to Gorakshep. Day 10 adds Kala Patthar before dropping to Pheriche at 4,210 m (13,810 ft). Clear skies decide what you see, so no view is promised.

  5. Days 11-12

    Walk out

    Long descents to Namche and then Lukla, the last day 18 to 19 km in about 7 hours on tired legs.

  6. Days 13-14

    Fly back and depart

    The flight to Ramechhap and the drive to Kathmandu, then departure the next day. Weather can hold the flight, so leave slack in any onward connections.

Pros and Cons

A straight reading of what this listing does well and where it asks more of you.

What we genuinely like

  • The round-trip Lukla flight via Ramechhap with transfers is inside the $1,475, which makes the flights part of the one price
  • All trek permits are arranged for you
  • Full board with tea or coffee during the trek, with a vegetarian option on request
  • One porter per two trekkers carrying up to 25 kg, so you walk with a day pack
  • Two acclimatisation days at Namche and Dingboche, which matches published guidance on altitude
  • Free cancellation up to 24 hours before departure, covering weather and too few travelers
  • A 5.0 rating drawn from 1,134 verified reviews

The honest downsides

  • Hot showers are only promised at Phakding, Namche and Lukla, and the listing lists hot showers during the trek as an exclusion
  • Insurance, visa, drinks, snacks, gear and tips are all extra, and the listing states no amounts for the tips
  • No spare weather days are built into the 14-day plan, so a grounded Lukla flight squeezes the itinerary
  • A minimum of 2 people per booking rules out true solo travel on this listing
  • The 15 to 70 age band excludes older and younger trekkers served by other listings

Who it's NOT for: Not for solo travelers without a partner, travelers outside the 15 to 70 band, or anyone wanting tents, hot showers above Namche or a helicopter leg.

Questions About This Trek

How much does the everest base camp lodge trek cost?

It costs $1,475 per person on the catalog, and that covers the Lukla flights via Ramechhap, permits, two Kathmandu hotel nights and full board on the trek. See the full breakdown under what the price covers.

How fit do I need to be?

The listing requires a high level of physical fitness, with walking days of up to 8 hours and 18 to 19 km. The Everest Base Camp trek guide explains how the stages build.

How high does the trek go?

The highest point is Everest Base Camp at 5,364 m (17,594 ft), and the route also climbs Kala Patthar, for which the listing prints no usable height. The acclimatisation plan is described in the day-by-day itinerary.

Can I trek solo on this listing?

No, the booking needs a minimum of 2 people and the age band runs 15 to 70. The Everest Base Camp 12 Days listing may suit solo travelers better, since it runs private or small groups.

What happens if my Lukla flight is cancelled?

Flight times are approximate and depend on weather and weight limits, and the operator's cancellation policy covers bad weather, but the itinerary has no spare weather days. The Lukla airport guide explains why flights cluster in the early morning.

Do I need insurance for this trek?

Yes, travel insurance is excluded from the price, and you should carry cover for helicopter evacuation, which can cost $6,000-$10,000 or more above 5,000 m. The permits and fees you do not pay are listed under what the price covers.

How does this compare with the editor's pick?

The pick is the Everest Base Camp Trek 14 Days at $1,800 per person with 1,656 reviews and an age band from 8 to 75. This Nepal Hiking Team trek is cheaper, includes flights and permits, and needs 2 people minimum.

The 14-day lodge-to-lodge trek to Everest Base Camp runs with flights, permits and full board from $1,475 per person.

Free cancellation up to 24 hours before departure, including for weather and too few travelers.

Check Availability

Prices, availability and terms are set by the operator and confirmed at checkout.

We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure

From $1,475 per person Check Availability