Everest Panorama Trek: 8 Days from Kathmandu
The Everest panorama trek is an 8-day short trek in the Khumbu that turns around at Tengboche Monastery, 3,870 m (12,694 ft), well below Everest Base Camp. Epic Adventures Pvt. Ltd. sells it on Viator for $1,225 per person, and it carries a 5.0 rating from 55 reviews. You fly from Kathmandu to Lukla, walk to Phakding, Namche Bazaar and Tengboche, then return through Monjo to Lukla. This page sets out what the price covers, what it does not, the day-by-day route and who should book a different trip. Start from the guide to Everest climbing tours if you want the full picture first. Compare it with the other Everest climbing tours compared.
About This Tour
Epic Adventures Pvt. Ltd. runs this 8-day panorama trek in the Everest region. After a Kathmandu to Lukla flight on day 2, the route walks to Phakding, climbs to the Sherpa capital of Namche Bazaar and continues to Tengboche Monastery at 3,870 m (12,694 ft) before returning through Monjo and Lukla. The listing calls it an easy trek compared with the Everest base camp trek and gives the trek itself as 5 to 8 days. Overnights are in Phakding, Namche Bazaar, Tengboche, Monjo and Lukla, and the hotel type is not stated.
Dinner and breakfast are the only meals the listing includes. Lunches, drinks and trail snacks are not named in the inclusions, so budget for them separately. An English-speaking guide leads a group of up to 15 travelers per booking. The trip does not reach base camp, so if base camp is the goal, look at a longer trek instead.
$1,225 per person. The listing's inclusions name dinner and breakfast. The itinerary also shows a Kathmandu airport greeting and transfer, overnight stays and an English-speaking guide, but the inclusions list does not name them.
8 days, with the trekking portion given as 5 to 8 days on the listing.
Kathmandu. A representative greets you at Kathmandu airport and transfers you to the hotel on day 1.
Tengboche, 3,870 m (12,694 ft). The listing description also gives the monastery as 3,850 m, so the figures differ within the listing itself.
The Kathmandu to Lukla flight on day 2 and the Lukla to Kathmandu flight on day 7 are in the itinerary but not in the inclusions list, so confirm with the operator before booking. Permits are not stated, lunches and gratuities are not listed as included, and insurance is never mentioned.
Free cancellation up to 24 hours before departure for a full refund. The policy covers cancellation for bad weather.
Check Dates and Availability
Departure times are shown when you check availability. Group size is up to 15 travelers per booking and an adult must be on the booking.
You'll confirm the exact date and time on the secure booking page.
Quick answer Price, route and who it suits
The Everest panorama trek costs $1,225 per person for 8 days with Epic Adventures, topping out at Tengboche, 3,870 m (12,694 ft), and never reaching base camp.
Key takeaways
- The listing includes dinner and breakfast only. Lukla flights appear in the itinerary but not in the inclusions, so read what the price covers before you book.
- Trekking days run 3 to 6 hours through Phakding, Namche Bazaar and Tengboche. See the full day-by-day route.
- Short of time but want base camp? The Everest Base Camp 12 Days trek reaches 5,364 m in 12 days.
- No time to trek at all? A helicopter breakfast at Everest View Hotel or the Everest scenic flight puts you in front of the mountain without the walking.
What the Price Actually Covers
The listing is thin on inclusions, and the thinness matters for your budget. Here is exactly what Epic Adventures names, what it excludes and what you should expect to arrange yourself.
Inclusions and Exclusions Line by Line
The operator lists two food items and one exclusion. Dinner on day 1 and breakfast on each trekking day are included. Gratuities are excluded. Accommodation is listed as overnights in Phakding, Namche Bazaar, Tengboche, Monjo and Lukla, with the hotel type not stated. A representative meets you at Kathmandu airport and transfers you to your hotel.
The big open question is the flights. The itinerary has a Kathmandu to Lukla flight on day 2 and a Lukla to Kathmandu flight on day 7, but neither appears in the inclusions list. Permits are not stated either, and the Everest region requires a Sagarmatha National Park entry permit and a Khumbu Pasang Lhamu Rural Municipality fee on the trail. Ask the operator in writing what the $1,225 covers before you pay, because Lukla flights and park fees are real money.
| Line | In the price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Accommodation | Overnights in Phakding, Namche Bazaar, Tengboche, Monjo and Lukla are in the itinerary but not in the inclusions list | Hotel type not stated |
| Breakfast | Yes, on trekking days | Named per day in the itinerary |
| Dinner | Yes, day 1 | No dinners listed for the trek days |
| Lunch | No | Not named in the inclusions |
| Kathmandu to Lukla flight | Not stated | In the day 2 itinerary, not in the inclusions list. Confirm with the operator |
| Lukla to Kathmandu flight | Not stated | In the day 7 itinerary, not in the inclusions list. Confirm with the operator |
| Permits | Not stated | None listed. Park and municipal fees apply in the region |
| Gratuities | No | Explicitly excluded |
| Insurance | Not stated | Never mentioned on the listing |
| Airport pickup | Yes | Named in the day 1 itinerary, not in the inclusions list. A representative greets you at Kathmandu airport and transfers you to the hotel |
Sources: Wikipedia, Mount Everest, Wikipedia, Sagarmatha National Park
Tengboche Monastery with Everest, Lhotse and Ama Dablam. Photo: Rohit Sharma, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons
The Route Day by Day
The itinerary runs 8 days from arrival in Kathmandu to departure. Heights below come from the listing itself, which prints the altitude for every overnight stop.
Stages and Heights as the Listing Gives Them
Day 1 is arrival and a hotel transfer in Kathmandu, with dinner included. Day 2 is the early morning flight to Lukla at 2,800 m (9,186 ft) and a 3 to 4 hour trek to Phakding. Day 3 is a 5 to 6 hour walk along the Dudh Koshi River and over the Hillary Suspension Bridge to Namche Bazaar at 3,440 m (11,280 ft). Day 4 climbs 5 to 6 hours through pine forest above Phunki Thenga to Tengboche at 3,870 m (12,694 ft), the highest point of the trip, where the listing names views of Everest, Nuptse, Lhotse and Ama Dablam.
From there the route reverses. Day 5 descends 5 to 6 hours to Monjo at 2,840 m (9,315 ft), day 6 walks 4 to 5 hours of mostly flat trail back to Lukla, and day 7 is the 40 minute flight to Kathmandu. Day 8 is departure. The itinerary shows no acclimatisation day in Namche and no spare weather day, which is worth knowing when you compare it with longer treks that build both in.
Views from the trail depend on weather and cloud. The listing names the mountains you can see from the Tengboche section, and the operator does not promise them.
| Day | Route | Height |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | Arrival in Kathmandu, airport transfer, dinner | Not stated |
| 2 | Fly Kathmandu to Lukla, trek 3-4 hours to Phakding | Lukla 2,800 m (9,186 ft), Phakding 2,652 m (8,700 ft) |
| 3 | Trek 5-6 hours to Namche Bazaar via the Dudh Koshi and the Hillary Suspension Bridge | 3,440 m (11,280 ft) |
| 4 | Trek 5-6 hours to Tengboche via Phunki Thenga | 3,870 m (12,694 ft) |
| 5 | Trek 5-6 hours down to Monjo | 2,840 m (9,315 ft) |
| 6 | Trek 4-5 hours back to Lukla | 2,800 m (9,186 ft) |
| 7 | Fly Lukla to Kathmandu, 40 minute flight | Not stated |
| 8 | Departure | Not stated |
Who This Trip Rules Out
This is the shortest and lowest trek on the mountain in the comparison, and that shape decides who fits. Read the limits before you book, because several of them have no workaround on an 8-day itinerary.
The Stated Limits
The listing asks for at least a moderate level of physical fitness. Booking age bands run from 9 to 80, and an adult must be on the booking. It is a shared group trip with up to 15 travelers per booking, not a private departure, and the guide speaks English. The listing does not recommend it for pregnant travelers or for travelers with spinal injuries.
The structural limits matter more. Eight days with the highest night at Tengboche, 3,870 m (12,694 ft), means no base camp, no Kala Patthar and no acclimatisation day in the printed itinerary. If you want to stand at base camp, the Everest Base Camp 12 Days trek gets there in 12 days from $955, and the Everest Base Camp Trek 14 Days carries more than 1,600 reviews. If you cannot spare the walking days at all, the Everest Base Camp Helicopter Landing is a 5 to 6 hour day with a landing when the weather allows, and the Everest scenic flight from $100 takes 2 hours in total around a 1-hour flight.
Two honest notes. First, the flights sit in the itinerary but not in the inclusions list, so get written confirmation of what the $1,225 covers before paying. Second, Lukla flights are weather dependent, and the itinerary has no buffer day before the day 7 flight home, so build slack into your own schedule. Cancellation is free up to 24 hours before departure, including for bad weather, which softens the weather risk on the booking side.
Namche Bazaar facing Kongde Ri. Photo: Nirojsedhai, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Altitude, Season and Paperwork
The general rules for the Everest region apply to this trek even though it stays low. Here is what the research says about timing, acclimatisation, Lukla logistics, permits, visas and insurance.
When to Go
The Everest region has a spring trekking season of March to May and an autumn season of September to November. Monsoon runs June to August with most of Nepal's annual rain, and December to February is the off-season. Night temperatures on the trail drop well below freezing outside midseason, with base camp nights recorded at -8C in May and -9C in October on one guide's figures.
For this trek you sleep no higher than 3,870 m, so the season window is wider than for base camp trips, but Lukla flights still depend on mountain weather.
Altitude and Acclimatisation
Altitude sickness typically occurs only above 2,500 m, and symptoms often show within ten hours of ascent. The standard advice is to ascend no more than 300 m (1,000 ft) per day to sleep above 3,000 m, and other guidance gives a 300-500 m band with a climb high, sleep low pattern. Sleeping altitude rises from Phakding at 2,652 m to Namche Bazaar at 3,440 m and Tengboche at 3,870 m on consecutive nights, and the itinerary prints no acclimatisation day, so it moves faster than that advice.
Drink plenty of water, tell your guide about any headache, nausea or dizziness, and be ready to stop if symptoms worsen. Acetazolamide at 125 mg twice daily, started about 24 hours before ascent, is the standard prevention dose, and your own doctor should confirm it.
Lukla Flights
Tenzing-Hillary Airport at Lukla has a 527 m (1,729 ft) runway with an 11.7% gradient, and only small STOL aircraft use it. Strong southwest winds usually close the airport from mid to late morning, so flights are scheduled early. Visibility closes Lukla about half the time during the monsoon, cancelling roughly half of flights.
Weather diversions can send flights to Ramechhap instead, which one guide puts 140 km from Kathmandu, about 5 hours by road. One operator suggests keeping about USD 500 one way available for a helicopter if your flight is cancelled. Check the full guide to Lukla airport before you fly.
Permits, Visa and Insurance
The listing states no permits, but trekkers in the region pay a Sagarmatha National Park entry permit of NPR 3,000 for foreigners, and a Khumbu Pasang Lhamu Rural Municipality fee, quoted at NPR 2,000 in some sources and NPR 3,000 in others, so confirm the current amount. Nepal's tourist visa on arrival is 30 USD for 15 days, 50 USD for 30 days and 125 USD for 90 days. No insurance is mentioned on this listing.
For treks in the region, guidance advises cover that includes helicopter evacuation, which costs about $3,000-$5,000 from the Namche area, and more from higher up. Read the pages on Sagarmatha National Park and Namche Bazaar for more background.
Day by Day Itinerary
The listing's own 8-day plan, with the day numbers, walking times and heights it prints.
-
Day 1
Arrival in Kathmandu
A representative holding your name meets you at the arrival gate at Kathmandu airport and transfers you to your hotel. Dinner is included.
-
Day 2
Fly to Lukla, trek to Phakding
After breakfast you are escorted to the domestic terminal for an early morning flight to Lukla, 2,800 m (9,186 ft). A 3 to 4 hour trek brings you to Phakding at 2,652 m (8,700 ft) for the night. Breakfast included.
-
Day 3
Phakding to Namche Bazaar
A 5 to 6 hour trek through pine forest along the Dudh Koshi River, over the Hillary Suspension Bridge, with a first view of Thamserku at 6,618 m. Overnight in Namche Bazaar at 3,440 m (11,280 ft). Breakfast included.
-
Day 4
Namche Bazaar to Tengboche
A 5 to 6 hour trek with views named in the listing of Everest, Nuptse, Lhotse and Ama Dablam, lunch at Phunki Thenga, then a climb through pine forest to Tengboche at 3,870 m (12,694 ft), the highest night of the trip. Breakfast included.
-
Day 5
Tengboche to Monjo
A 5 to 6 hour descent, with a steep drop from Namche Hill to the suspension bridge over the Dudh Koshi. Overnight in Monjo at 2,840 m (9,315 ft). Breakfast included.
-
Day 6
Monjo to Lukla
A 4 to 5 hour walk, mostly flat with some undulating terrain through rhododendron and pine forest and Kwangde peak in the distance. Last night in the mountains at Lukla, 2,800 m (9,186 ft). Breakfast included.
-
Day 7
Fly back to Kathmandu
A 40 minute flight from Lukla to Kathmandu, then the trip winds down in the city. Breakfast included.
-
Day 8
Departure
The listing titles this day Farewell Friend. No further transfers or meals are named for it.
Pros and Cons
An honest read of this listing against the alternatives on this site.
What we genuinely like
- The highest point is Tengboche at 3,870 m (12,694 ft), so the acclimatisation load is far lighter than on base camp treks that sleep above 5,000 m
- Eight days is shorter than the 12 and 14-day base camp trips, and the trek itself is given as 5 to 8 days
- The listing holds a 5.0 rating from 55 verified reviews on Viator and Tripadvisor
- Free cancellation up to 24 hours before departure, and the policy covers bad weather
- Dinner and breakfast are the inclusions named for the $1,225 per person price, and the itinerary adds an airport greeting, a hotel transfer and overnight stays
The honest downsides
- The Kathmandu to Lukla and Lukla to Kathmandu flights are in the itinerary but not in the inclusions list, so the real trip cost is unclear until the operator confirms
- No permits are stated, and the region's park entry and municipal fees are real costs
- Only dinner on day 1 and breakfasts are included, so every lunch on the trail is extra
- The printed itinerary has no acclimatisation day in Namche and no spare weather day, despite the day 3 to 4 sleeping altitude gain
- It does not reach Everest Base Camp, Kala Patthar or the 5,000 m mark, so the Everest views depend on the Tengboche section and on weather
- Not recommended for pregnant travelers or travelers with spinal injuries, and an adult must be on the booking
Who it's NOT for: Not for travelers who want to stand at Everest Base Camp, for pregnant travelers or people with spinal injuries, or for anyone who cannot spare buffer days around weather-affected Lukla flights.
Everest Panorama Trek FAQ
How much does the Everest panorama trek cost?
Epic Adventures prices it at $1,225 per person for 8 days, with dinner and breakfast and the listed lodge nights in Phakding, Namche Bazaar, Tengboche, Monjo and Lukla. The flights, permits and lunches are not stated as included, so read what the price covers and confirm the gaps with the operator.
Does the Everest panorama trek reach Everest Base Camp?
No. The highest point is Tengboche at 3,870 m (12,694 ft), and the route turns back through Monjo to Lukla. If base camp is the goal, the Everest Base Camp 12 Days trek gets there in 12 days from $955 per person.
How hard is the Everest panorama trek?
The listing asks for at least a moderate level of physical fitness and calls it an easy trek compared with the Everest base camp trek. Trekking days run 3 to 6 hours, and the highest night is 3,870 m. Compare the effort with the Everest Base Camp Trek 14 Days, which climbs to Kala Patthar, given as 5,555 m on that listing.
Are the Lukla flights included in the price?
The listing does not say so. The itinerary shows a Kathmandu to Lukla flight on day 2 and a Lukla to Kathmandu flight on day 7, but neither is in the inclusions list, so confirm in writing before booking. Lukla flights are weather dependent, as the Lukla airport guide explains.
Can I see Everest without doing this trek?
Yes, from the air. The Everest scenic flight from $100 flies past Everest on a 1-hour flight, 2 hours in total, with a guaranteed window seat, and the Everest View Hotel helicopter breakfast adds breakfast at 3,880 m and a landing when the weather allows, in 6 hours. Neither involves trekking, and both still depend on weather for the views.
Who can book this trek, and who should not?
Booking age bands run from 9 to 80 with an adult on the booking, and the listing is not recommended for pregnant travelers or travelers with spinal injuries. Groups run up to 15 per booking with an English-speaking guide. See who this trip rules out before you commit.
What is the cancellation policy?
You can cancel free of charge up to 24 hours before departure for a full refund, and the policy covers cancellation for bad weather. Inside 24 hours there is no refund. Check live dates on the availability panel or browse Everest climbing tours for trips with different terms.
Prices, availability and terms are set by the operator and confirmed at checkout.
We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure