Everest Climbing ToursAn Independent Guide Check Availability
Mount Everest at sunrise above the Khumbu Glacier from the Kala Patthar ridge, the view at the heart of Everest climbing tours

Everest Climbing Tours

Mount Everest stands 8,848.86 m on the Nepal-Tibet border, with the Khumbu valley and its lodges below. Everest climbing tours split by how high you go, how many days you buy for acclimatisation, and what the price leaves out, from Lukla flights to permits and tips.

8,848.86 metres, the surveyed height
60 days on the full expedition
1,656 reviews on the pick
Quick answer The price range, the pick and the cheapest view

Everest climbing tours run from a 1-hour scenic flight at $100 to a 60-day guided summit expedition at $42,000 per person, with base camp treks from $955 and trekking-peak climbs from $1,250. What separates them is height, acclimatisation days, and the extras each price leaves out.

Key takeaways

  • The full summit climb: the Everest Expedition Nepal runs 60 days to 8,848 m with a climbing Sherpa, oxygen and permits, from $42,000, plus a USD 1,800 summit bonus and USD 200 in tips. See the full expedition.
  • First summits on 6,000 m peaks: Island Peak, Mera Peak and Lobuche East ask for crampons and fixed ropes, with trips from 14 to 30 days and permits in or out of the price → trekking peaks
  • The pick: the Everest Base Camp Trek 14 Days from Ace the Himalaya, 5.0 from 1,656 reviews, from $1,800 with the Lukla flights → see the card.
  • The cheapest way to see Everest is the 1-hour scenic flight from Kathmandu at $100, or a helicopter landing day if you want to stand at base camp.

Everest Climbing Tours Compared

Prices are per person and the from-price is the lowest option on each listing. The platform handles payment, and cancellation terms differ: free cancellation to 24 hours before departure on most listings, to 6 full days before on the Everest Base Camp Trek 14 Days and the Tibet tour, and all sales final on the helicopter-return trek. What each price leaves out, from Lukla flights to permits, tips and insurance, is stated on every card.

Every listing states what the price leaves out, from Lukla flights to summit bonuses
Free cancellation to 24 hours before departure on most listings, 6 days on two
Licensed guides, porters or climbing Sherpas named on every listing
Heights from 3,870 m to the 8,848 m summit, matched to your fitness

Everest Tours by Price, Days and Height

Every Everest climbing tour side by side: the listing price per person, the days, the highest point the listing names and the kind of trip. Where a listing prints no height the cell says so, and the cards carry what each price leaves out.

Tour Price Days Highest point Type Book
Everest Expedition $42,000 60 days Everest summit 8,848 m Expedition Check Availability Details
Island Peak and EBC $2,899 20 days Island Peak 6,189 m Trekking peak Check Availability Details
Island Peak Climb $1,250 14 days Island Peak 6,189 m Trekking peak Check Availability Details
Mera Peak Climb $3,000 About 18 days Not stated Trekking peak Check Availability Details
Three Peaks Trip $7,773 30 days Mera Peak 6,476 m Trekking peak Check Availability Details
EBC Trek 14 Days $1,800 14 days Kala Patthar 5,555 m Base camp trek Check Availability Details
EBC Lodge to Lodge $1,475 14 days Everest Base Camp 5,364 m Base camp trek Check Availability Details
EBC Trek 12 Days $955 12 days Kala Patthar 5,545 m Base camp trek Check Availability Details
Three Passes Trek $1,750 17 days Kala Patthar 5,545 m Trek Check Availability Details
EBC Heli Return $2,250 12 days Not stated Base camp trek Check Availability Details
Panorama Trek $1,225 8 days Tengboche 3,870 m Trek Check Availability Details
Tibet Base Camp Tour $969 8 days Tibet Base Camp 5,200 m Tibet tour Check Availability Details
Base Camp Helicopter $1,600 5 to 6 hours Not stated Helicopter Check Availability Details
Heli Breakfast $1,352 6 hours Not stated Helicopter Check Availability Details
Everest Scenic Flight $100 2 hours Passes Everest 8,848 m Flight Check Availability Details

Climbing Mount Everest: The Full Expedition

One listing on this page climbs Everest itself. Here is what it covers, how the south-side route stacks its camps, and who can sign up. The route and the risk on climbing Mount Everest, the money on the cost to climb Everest.

The Khumbu Icefall below the west shoulder of Everest, Lhotse and Nuptse, the first barrier on Everest climbing tours to the summit

The Khumbu Icefall from base camp, with the west shoulder of Everest, Lhotse and Nuptse above. Photo: Thaneswar Guragai, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

What the Everest Expedition Includes

The Everest Expedition Nepal from Monterosa Treks and Expedition costs $42,000 per person and runs 60 days from arrival in Kathmandu, with about 45 days on the mountain. Each climber gets a 1 to 1 climbing Sherpa guide, 6 bottles of oxygen with mask and regulator, and the Everest climbing permit with the icefall charge and fixed ropes. The Kathmandu to Lukla flights are included with 50 kg of cargo per climber, the trek to base camp runs by lodge on full board, and above base camp you sleep in tents with high-camp climbing food, gas and stove.

The price leaves out the USD 1,800 guide summit bonus, USD 200 per climber in base camp staff tips, lunch and dinner in Kathmandu, personal climbing gear, insurance and helicopter evacuation. Bookings take up to 15 people per booking, in English, with an age band of 18 to 75.

The South-Side Route, Camp by Camp

The Nepal side climbs from base camp on the Khumbu Glacier through the icefall and a ladder of camps to the South Col, then the summit at 8,848 m. Climbers cross the Khumbu Icefall on rope and ladder networks set by professional guides, most crossings before sunrise, and start using bottled oxygen from the South Col with summit attempts typically leaving before midnight. The heights below come from Alpine Ascents' route description, one of several published sets.

A round trip from the South Col typically takes 9 to 18 hours. Alan Arnette notes the descent has the highest incident rate on the Southeast Ridge route.

StageHeightWhat happens
Base Camp5,364 mTrek in from Lukla over about 8 days, tents, dining and shower tent
Khumbu Icefall5,486 mCrossed on fixed ropes and ladders, most climbers go before sunrise
Camp I5,943 mFirst camp above the icefall, reached in about 3 to 6 hours
Camp II6,400 mAbout 2 to 3 hours from Camp I, acclimatisation rotations run through here
Camp III / Lhotse Face7,162 mAbout 3 to 6 hours from Camp II on the Lhotse Face
Camp IV / South Col8,016 mOxygen starts here, summit push leaves before midnight
The summit8,848 mFinal push of 10 to 12 hours round trip from Camp IV

Who Can Sign Up, and When

The summit season is spring. Nepal's royalty for a foreign climber on the Everest Southeast Ridge route is $15,000 in spring, up from $11,000, with autumn at $7,500 and winter and summer at $3,750 per the fee update. On experience, Nepal's Integrated Tourism Bill would require Everest permit applicants to have climbed a mountain over 7,000 m, but it remains a bill in a House of Representatives committee with no law in force.

On results, the Himalayan Database as reported by Alan Arnette lists 851 Everest summits in spring 2025, a 63% member success rate on the Nepal side that season, and running totals through 2025 of 13,737 summits and 339 deaths, a death rate of 1.4% of summits from 2000 to 2025. All but 4 of the 2025 summiteers used supplemental oxygen.

Trekking Peaks: Island Peak, Mera Peak and Lobuche East

The usual first step before an 8,000 m peak is a Nepal trekking peak, a real summit of 6,000-plus metres on crampons and fixed ropes. The listings here cover Island Peak, Mera Peak and Lobuche East.

Prayer flags on the snow summit of Mera Peak above a sea of Himalayan peaks on one of the Everest climbing tours to a trekking peak

The summit of Mera Peak. Photo: Sangyam adventurer, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

The Peak Trips Side by Side

The table compares the trekking-peak listings by price, days, summit height and the costs each one pushes back to you, using the figures in each listing. Each carries free cancellation to 24 hours before departure. The listings print Island Peak at 6,189 m (20,305 ft), though Wikipedia gives 6,165 m (20,226 ft), and Mera Peak's listing prints no height while Wikipedia gives the main Mera North summit at 6,476 m (21,247 ft).

ClimbPriceDaysSummitLeft out
Island Peak and EBC Climb$2,89920 daysIsland Peak 6,189 mVisa, international airfare, Kathmandu meals, evacuation insurance
Island Peak Climbing$1,25014 daysIsland Peak 6,189 mLukla flights USD 500, Island Peak permit USD 350 or USD 175, guide insurance USD 100
Mera Peak Climbing$3,000About 18 daysMera Peak, height not statedInternational airfare, personal gear, tips
Three Peaks Climbing Trip$7,77330 daysMera Peak 6,476 mInternational airfare, visa, insurance, Kathmandu meals, gear, tips

What a Trekking Peak Asks of You

These climbs are graded entry level but they are not walks. Island Peak's easiest route, the North Ridge, is graded PD+, with glacier travel, scrambling and ice climbing, and guides may fix ropes for the nearly 100 m climb to the summit ridge, where a crevasse has sometimes forced teams back and a 5-metre aluminium ladder has been in use. The Nepal royalty for foreign climbers on peaks up to 6,500 m is $350 in spring and $175 in autumn, winter and summer per the fee update, though operator figures differ and one lists Island Peak spring at $500 up from $350, so confirm the permit with the operator.

This is why the peaks are the standard apprenticeship before Everest: the same skills of crampons, jumars on fixed ropes and acclimatisation above 5,000 m carry over, at a fraction of the cost and commitment.

Choosing Between Them

If you want the peak and the base camp trail in one trip, the Island Peak and EBC Climb at $2,899 over 20 days treks to Everest Base Camp and Kala Patthar first, then climbs Island Peak from a tented base camp and high camp at 5,400 m, with permits included. If you only want the peak, Island Peak Climbing at $1,250 over 14 days is the lowest peak price on the page, but read the exclusions: the Lukla flights at USD 500 per person, the Island Peak permit at USD 350 or USD 175, and guide insurance at USD 100 sit outside the price. Mera Peak is the highest of these peaks and its route through the uninhabited Hongu and Hinku valleys is high-altitude glacier walking, technically straightforward for experienced climbers with acclimatisation the main challenge.

The 30-day Three Peaks Climbing Trip at $7,773 links Mera, Island and Lobuche East with permits, internal flights and meals on the trail, and it is a new listing with no reviews yet.

Everest Base Camp Treks

You do not need to climb anything to stand at Everest Base Camp at 5,364 m or on the Kala Patthar viewpoint above it. The trek listings here reach base camp or the Khumbu high points, from 8 to 17 days. The walk itself on the Everest Base Camp trek, the place on Everest Base Camp.

Namche Bazaar on its horseshoe slope below Kongde Ri, the acclimatisation stop on Everest climbing tours and base camp treks

Namche Bazaar facing Kongde Ri. Photo: Nirojsedhai, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

The Base Camp Treks Compared

The table lines up the trek listings by price, days, whether the Lukla flights are inside the price, and the cancellation terms, from each listing. Cancellation runs from free to 6 full days before departure, to free to 24 hours, to all sales final on the helicopter return. Read the cards for the rest of the inclusions, because meals on the trail are not in every price.

TrekPriceDaysLukla flightsCancel
Everest Base Camp Trek 14 Days$1,80014 daysIncludedFree to 6 days before
Everest Base Camp Trek Lodge to Lodge$1,47514 daysIncludedFree to 24 h before
Everest Base Camp 12 Days$95512 daysIncludedFree to 24 h before
Everest Three Passes Trek$1,75017 daysIncludedFree to 24 h before
EBC Trek with Helicopter Return$2,25012 daysIncluded plus heliAll sales final
Everest Panorama Trek$1,2258 daysIn itineraryFree to 24 h before

The Route Day by Day in Short Form

Every base camp trek starts with the flight to Lukla at 2,846 m (9,337 ft) by one source and 2,860 m by another, then the trail climbs to Namche Bazaar at 3,440 m (11,290 ft), where standard itineraries put an acclimatisation rest day. From there the route goes to Tengboche Monastery at 3,867 m (12,687 ft), then Dingboche, listed at 4,410 m (14,470 ft) in its own article and 4,260 m in the base camp article, for a second rest day, then Lobuche at 4,940 m (16,210 ft) and Gorak Shep at 5,164 m (16,942 ft), the last village with accommodation. Camping is not allowed at base camp on trekking permits, so most trekkers sleep at Gorak Shep and walk the 1.5 to 2.5 hours to Everest Base Camp at 5,364 m (17,598 ft) from there.

Kala Patthar, commonly listed at 5,545 to 5,550 m (18,192 to 18,209 ft), is climbed from Gorak Shep in about 1.5 to 2 hours and gives the close-up view of Everest that base camp itself does not.

  • Most trekkers spend 12 to 18 days round trip from Lukla including acclimatisation, and skipping the rest days raises altitude sickness risk sharply
  • A helicopter return from the region can cut three or four days off the trek

Variations, Fees and the Guide Rule

A few treks change the formula. The Everest Three Passes Trek is a 17-day private circuit over Renjo La, Cho La and Kongma La with Gokyo Lakes added, advised for spring or autumn because heavy winter snow can block the passes, and it is a new listing with no reviews yet. The EBC Trek with Helicopter Return at $2,250 flies you back from Gorakshep to Lukla by helicopter, and all sales are final with no refund for cancellation.

The Everest Panorama Trek turns back at Tengboche at 3,870 m (12,694 ft) in 8 days for anyone short on days, and the listing calls it easy compared with the base camp trek. On fees, the Sagarmatha National Park entry permit is NPR 3,000 for foreigners and the Khumbu Pasang Lhamu Rural Municipality fee is listed at NPR 2,000 per foreigner by one source and NPR 3,000 by another, so carry cash for both. On guides, a national rule from April 1, 2023 requires foreign trekkers in TIMS-covered areas to hire a licensed guide, but the Solukhumbu region has rejected the ruling and says guides are not mandatory there, and every trek on this page includes one anyway.

Everest Without the Trek: Helicopter, Flight and Tibet

Not every Everest trip needs boots on the trail. A helicopter day, a mountain flight or a Tibet road tour each put the mountain in front of you in hours or days.

Mount Everest and Nuptse close up from Kala Patthar, the landing point of Everest climbing tours by helicopter

Everest from Kala Patthar. Photo: Bijay Chaurasia, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

The No-Trek Tours at a Glance

The tours that reach Everest without a trek, compared on the catalog price per person, the time the trip takes, where it lands or turns and where it starts. Every figure comes from the listing.

TourPriceTimeLands atStart
Tibet Everest Base Camp Tour$9698 daysEverest Base Camp (Tibet side), 5,200 mLhasa
Everest Base Camp Helicopter Landing$1,6005 to 6 hoursEverest Base Camp and Kala PattharKathmandu
Everest View Hotel Helicopter Breakfast$1,3526 hoursKala Patthar or Everest Base Camp (weather permitting)Kathmandu
Everest Scenic Flight$1002 hoursFlight passes Mount Everest, 8,848 mKathmandu

The Helicopter Days

Both helicopter tours fly from Kathmandu, refuel at Lukla and land at Kala Patthar or Everest Base Camp only when the weather allows. The Everest Base Camp Helicopter Landing runs 5 to 6 hours in a shared Airbus H125 with 5 passengers and 1 pilot. Hotel pickup is around 5:30 AM and the flight leaves at 6:30 AM.

Ground time at the landing is short: the itinerary lists 10 minutes for the stop, because of the altitude. Passengers over 100 kg should message the operator after booking. The listing adds $50 per person in extra charges ($1,650 in total) for national park fees, municipal tax and airport tax, which it excludes without itemising.

Breakfast at the Everest View Hotel is optional. If weather cancels the flight you get a full refund. The Everest View Hotel Helicopter Breakfast is a private 6-hour trip at $1,352, with oxygen on board, a window seat for every passenger and breakfast at Everest View Hotel (3,880 m).

It is a new listing with no reviews yet. Government taxes and extra costs from weather delays are not included.

The Mountain Flight and the Tibet North Side

The cheapest way to see Everest is the Everest Scenic Flight at $100. The trip takes 2 hours built around a 1-hour flight from Tribhuvan International Airport past Mount Everest (8,848 m), with Lhotse, Makalu and Nuptse in view. Every passenger gets a window seat and the listing includes an adventure certificate and a packed breakfast or lunch.

Bad weather means a free rebooking. On the other side of the border, the Tibet Everest Base Camp Tour is an 8-day minibus tour from Lhasa via Gyantse and Shigatse to the north base camp at 5,200 m, with a night in a tent guest house at Rongpuk. The Tibet Travel Permit and entrance tickets are included.

The Chinese L visa and the flight or train to Lhasa are not. Book at least 10 working days ahead for the permit and send passport and visa copies at least 20 days before travel. The price is based on double occupancy.

Sources: tour listings on Viator and GetYourGuide, Wikipedia on Everest Base Camp, Amazing Nepal Trek on the helicopter tour, Third Eye Traveller on the mountain flight

What an Everest Climbing Tour Costs

The gap between a $100 flight and a $42,000 expedition is the height, the days and the logistics. Here is what the permits cost and what each catalog price leaves out.

Permits and Fees

The permits and fees around an Everest trip, compared on the amount and on who pays it. The figures come from the sources named under this section, and where two sources disagree both are given.

Fee or costAmountWho pays it
Everest royalty, normal route, spring$15,000 per foreign climber, up from $11,000The expedition, usually passed to the client
Everest royalty, normal route, autumn$7,500, up from $5,500The expedition
Everest royalty, normal route, winter and summer$3,750, up from $2,750The expedition
Everest royalty, other routes, spring$10,000The expedition
Trekking peak permit, up to 6,500 m$350 spring and $175 autumn, winter and summer (one source says $375 spring, another $250)The climbing tour or the client, depending on the package
Sagarmatha National Park entryNPR 3,000 for foreignersEvery trekker, at Monjo or Kathmandu
Khumbu Pasang Lhamu municipality feeNPR 2,000, with one source reporting NPR 3,000 since 2026Every trekker, paid near Lukla
Nepal visa on arrival$30 for 15 days, $50 for 30 days, $125 for 90 daysEvery visitor at the airport
Lukla flight where the tour prices itUSD 500 per person round trip on Island Peak Climbing, $215 each way or $150 one way per other sourcesThe trekker, if not in the package

Read the Catalog Price Carefully

The lower the price, the more it usually leaves out. Island Peak Climbing at $1,250 lists the Lukla flights (USD 500 per person) and the Island Peak climbing permit (USD 350, or USD 175 as written) as not included, plus guide insurance and tips. The Everest Panorama Trek at $1,225 has the Kathmandu to Lukla flight in its itinerary but not in its inclusions list, and only dinner and breakfast are listed as included. The Tibet Everest Base Camp Tour at $969 leaves out the Chinese L visa and the flight or train to Lhasa.

At the top, the Everest expedition at $42,000 excludes a USD 1,800 guide summit bonus, USD 200 per climber in base camp staff tips, lunch and dinner in Kathmandu, personal gear, insurance and helicopter evacuation. Check each card before you book.

The Market Range for a Summit

For context only, these are third-party market figures, not prices you can book here. Alan Arnette's 2026 edition says most people pay between $40,000 and $80,000 to climb Everest and some pay up to $300,000. His cost page lists a 2026 median of $45,250 for a Nepalese guide service on the Nepal side, $54,000 for an international operator with a Sherpa guide and $76,000 with an international guide.

On the Tibet side the medians are $47,000 and $90,800. Sherpa-supported climbs run $30,000 to $55,000 and fully guided climbs $65,000 to over $125,000, all per Arnette. Tibet Travel's FAQ puts an Everest climb at around $40,000 or more.

Against that market, the guided Everest expedition on this site at $42,000 for 60 days sits below the $45,250 median for a Nepalese guide service, with the summit bonus and tips still to budget.

Sources: Alan Arnette cost page, Wilderness Excursion royalty update, Nepal embassy visa page, tour listings.

On the Way to Everest Base Camp

The trail from Lukla climbs through Sherpa villages and monasteries before the high ground. These are the six points most itineraries build their days around. More on Namche Bazaar, Tengboche Monastery and Kala Patthar.

The runway at Tenzing-Hillary Airport in Lukla, where most Everest climbing tours start the trek 2,846-2,860 m

Lukla

Most Everest trips start at Tenzing-Hillary Airport in Lukla, a 527 m runway with an 11.7% gradient on a mountainside. The Kathmandu flight takes about 35 minutes. The Everest Base Camp Trek 14 Days begins with this flight.

Namche Bazaar on the trail of Everest climbing tours to base camp 3,440 m

Namche Bazaar

Namche Bazaar is the Sherpa capital and the first acclimatization stop, usually reached after about two days from Lukla. Most treks hold a rest day here. See how the days stack up on the Everest Base Camp Trek Lodge to Lodge.

The painted gate of Tengboche Monastery on Everest climbing tours in the Khumbu 3,867 m

Tengboche Monastery

Tengboche Monastery is the largest gompa in the Khumbu region and sits on a ridge with Everest views. The short Everest Panorama Trek turns back here at 3,870 m on its 8-day route.

Dingboche below Ama Dablam, the second acclimatisation village on Everest climbing tours 4,260-4,410 m

Dingboche

Dingboche is the second acclimatization village, with no roads and a helipad. Standard itineraries take a rest day here before the climb to the high ground. Climbers pass it twice on the Island Peak and EBC Climb.

Everest from Kala Patthar above Gorak Shep on Everest climbing tours 5,164 m

Gorak Shep and Kala Patthar

Gorak Shep is the last village with accommodation on the trek, and the climb to Kala Patthar above it takes 1.5 to 2 hours. Kala Patthar gives the closest accessible view of Everest and Nuptse. The Everest Base Camp 12 Days tops out here at 5,545 m.

Everest Base Camp tents on the Khumbu Glacier, the goal of Everest climbing tours and base camp treks 5,364 m

Everest Base Camp

Everest Base Camp on the Nepal side sits on the Khumbu Glacier at 5,364 m (17,598 ft), and camping here is not allowed on trekking permits, so most trekkers walk in from Gorak Shep. Expeditions live here for weeks, as on the Everest Expedition Nepal.

Photos via Wikimedia Commons: Lukla Airport, Vyacheslav Argenberg, CC BY 4.0. Namche Bazaar, Nirojsedhai, CC BY-SA 4.0. Tengboche Monastery, Vyacheslav Argenberg, CC BY 4.0. Dingboche, Nirojsedhai, CC BY-SA 4.0. Everest from Kala Patthar, Bijay Chaurasia, CC BY-SA 4.0. Everest Base Camp, Nirojsedhai, CC BY-SA 4.0.

Seasons, Weather and Altitude

Two windows carry almost all Everest traffic. The weather decides whether your Lukla flight goes and whether a summit push or a helicopter landing happens at all. Delays and the Ramechhap diversion on Lukla airport.

Pilots crossing the apron at Lukla airport under cloud, the weather that holds flights on Everest climbing tours

Tenzing-Hillary Airport in Lukla. Photo: Vyacheslav Argenberg, CC BY 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

When to Go

Spring and autumn are the two seasons, and each has a different character. Summit traffic on Everest itself is overwhelmingly spring, with about 80% of the 2026 summits falling between mid and late May.

MonthsSeasonTrailBest for
March to MaySpringClimbing season, warm days, cold nights at base camp around -17C in March rising to -8C in MayEverest summit pushes, trekking peaks, all treks
June to AugustMonsoonMost of Nepal's annual rain, visibility closes Lukla about 50% of the time and cancellation rates exceed 60%Not recommended, trails wet and flights unreliable
September to NovemberAutumnClear skies after the monsoon, nights at base camp -9C in October and -12C in November, rooms fill fast in October and NovemberTreks, trekking peaks, best Lukla reliability
December to FebruaryWinterOff-season, base camp nights down to -25C, high passes can be blocked by heavy snowShort treks only, quiet trails

Lukla Flights and the Ramechhap Diversion

Lukla's runway is 527 m long and strong southwest winds usually close it from mid to late morning, so flights run early. In peak spring and autumn all flights often operate from Manthali airport in Ramechhap instead of Kathmandu, which adds a 4 to 5 hour drive and a departure from your hotel around 2 or 3 AM. October is the most reliable month, with about 1 in 10 departures delayed more than 2 hours.

The Everest Base Camp Trek Lodge to Lodge already routes its Lukla flights via Ramechhap with transfers included. Build a spare day into your plan either way, because a grounded flight can cost you the connection at the start or the end.

Altitude and Insurance

Altitude sickness typically occurs above 2,500 m and symptoms often appear within ten hours of ascent. The common rule of thumb is to sleep no more than 300 to 500 m higher each day above 3,000 m and to climb high and sleep low, which is why good itineraries hold rest days at Namche Bazaar and Dingboche. Watch for headache, nausea, fatigue, dizziness and poor sleep, and never go higher with worsening symptoms.

No national law requires travel insurance, but agencies usually ask for proof and it is strongly recommended above 3,500 m. Take a policy with helicopter evacuation cover, advised at a minimum $100,000 limit and $200,000 to $500,000 for high-altitude trips, because evacuation from above 5,000 m costs $6,000 to $10,000 or more. The Everest Three Passes Trek over passes between 5,367 m and 5,540 m is the altitude test on this page, and its listing advises spring or autumn because winter snow blocks the passes.

Sources: Kandoo Adventures month guide, Everest Trekking Routes, Wikipedia on altitude sickness and Tenzing-Hillary Airport, tour listings.

Before You Book an Everest Tour

Do

  • Do buy insurance that covers helicopter evacuation at altitude, because a rescue from a trekking peak above 6,000 m can cost $10,000 to $15,000+ and listings such as the Everest Expedition Nepal exclude emergency evacuation by helicopter.
  • Do keep a spare day for Lukla flights, because visibility closes the airport about half the time in monsoon and peak-season flights can be rerouted to Ramechhap with a 4 to 6 hour drive.
  • Do read what the price leaves out before you book, because the $1,250 Island Peak Climbing trip excludes the Lukla flights (USD 500) and the Island Peak permit, and the $42,000 Everest expedition excludes a USD 1,800 guide summit bonus and USD 200 in base camp staff tips.
  • Do train before a trekking peak, because listings for Island Peak and Mera Peak ask for good to high physical fitness and summit days run 8 to 12 hours with crampons and fixed ropes.
  • Do climb high and sleep low, because guides advise limiting sleeping-altitude gain to about 300 to 500 m per day above 3,000 m and the acclimatisation days at Namche Bazaar and Dingboche are built into the treks for that reason.

Don't

  • Don't skip the acclimatisation days, because rushing to Everest Base Camp in 9 to 10 days greatly increases the risk of altitude sickness at 5,364 m.
  • Don't book the summit expedition without a 6,000 m or 7,000 m peak behind you, because a bill in Nepal would require Everest applicants to have climbed a peak over 7,000 m, and the 60-day climb at 8,848 m is not a first mountain.
  • Don't count on a refund on the EBC Trek with Helicopter Return, because that listing is all sales final with no refund for cancellations.
  • Don't fly in to altitude and go straight up, because altitude sickness typically occurs above 2,500 m and symptoms can appear within ten hours of ascent, so build rest days in before pushing to Kala Patthar at 5,545 m.

Is an Everest Climbing Tour Worth It

A booking buys logistics and days. It cannot buy weather, and it does not always buy the whole bill.

What we genuinely like

  • The choice of height and days runs from a 2-hour scenic flight at $100 to a 60-day summit expedition at $42,000.
  • Guides, porters, permits and accommodation are arranged for you, which removes the hardest paperwork in Nepal.
  • The Lukla flights are in the price on most treks, including the 14-day base camp trek and the 12-day option.
  • Free cancellation to 24 hours before applies to most listings, and the pick allows it to 6 days before.

The honest downsides

  • The weather holds the Lukla flights, and monsoon visibility cancels about half of them.
  • Altitude does not care about fitness, and even fit trekkers can be turned around at Kala Patthar or a high camp.
  • The cheapest listings leave flights and permits out, so the sticker price is not the whole cost.
  • Three listings are new with no reviews yet, so the rating cannot tell you anything about them.
  • The summit expedition costs $42,000 before the USD 1,800 guide summit bonus and USD 200 in staff tips.

Who it's NOT for: Not for anyone who wants a guaranteed summit, a guaranteed landing or a trip with no days at altitude.

Which Everest Tour Fits You

If You want the summit of Everest itself at 8,848 m and about 45 days on the mountain

Book the full Everest Expedition Nepal at $42,000 for 60 days, or read the full expedition section first.

If You want a first 6,000 m summit with crampons and fixed ropes

Start with Island Peak Climbing at $1,250 for 14 days, or see the trekking peaks section for Island Peak, Mera Peak and the three-peak option.

If You have two weeks and want Everest Base Camp at 5,364 m under your feet

Take the pick, the Everest Base Camp Trek 14 Days at $1,800 with Lukla flights included, and check the trail section for the stages.

If You are short on days

Look at Everest Base Camp 12 Days at $955 or the EBC Trek with Helicopter Return at $2,250, and note the second one is all sales final.

If You want Everest with no trekking at all

Choose the Everest Scenic Flight at $100 for 2 hours, the Everest Base Camp Helicopter Landing at $1,600 for 5 to 6 hours, or browse the flights and helicopter section.

If You want the north side from Tibet

Read the flights, Tibet and helicopter section and the Tibet Everest Base Camp Tour at $969 for 8 days from Lhasa, which needs the Tibet Travel Permit.

What Travelers Said After the Trip

★★★★★ ★★★★★
The trek to Everest base camp was amazing. My guide was very helpful, informative and kind. Communication from the company was prompt the entire time.
Bradley · United States · May 2026 · GetYourGuide verified booking
★★★★★ ★★★★★
I absolutely loved this trek! Every day had a new challenge and new sights to see. What made our trek the best however was our fantastic guide Mohan! Anyone thinking of booking with this company ask for him because he was incredible. He was attentive and caring and was completely at our pace in every step of the way.
Zoya · Canada · January 2025 · GetYourGuide verified booking
★★★★★ ★★★★★
It was an amazing experience, the Sherpas and porters were extremely friendly and professional and ensured we were safe and had an amazing time. Would definitely go back and do it again !
Sam · Australia · August 2025 · GetYourGuide verified booking
★★★★★ ★★★★★
The pick up was punctual. Check in smooth. The flight was around 50 minutes. The main peaks was pointed by airlines staff, which was so nice. After the flight , the driver took me to my hotel where I was around 8:00 AM. Whole trip including pick up and drop off was around 3 hours.
Roza · Poland · March 2026 · GetYourGuide verified booking

Everest Climbing Tours: Your Questions

How much does it cost to climb Mount Everest?

The only bookable summit climb here is Everest Expedition Nepal at $42,000 per person for 60 days, and it excludes a USD 1,800 guide summit bonus, USD 200 in base camp staff tips and insurance. For a cheaper high-altitude climb, Island Peak Climbing puts you on a 6,189 m summit from $1,250.

Can a beginner climb Everest?

No listing is aimed at a first mountaineer on Everest, and a bill in Nepal would require Everest permit applicants to have climbed a peak over 7,000 m. A beginner should start on a 6,000 m trekking peak such as Island Peak Climbing or Island Peak and EBC Climb, or trek to base camp on the Everest Base Camp Trek 14 Days.

How long does it take to climb Mount Everest?

The bookable Everest Expedition Nepal runs 60 days with about 45 of them on the mountain. Market guides cited in the cost section put a standard expedition at six to eight weeks, and the itinerary includes the trek to base camp before the rotations start.

Is Everest open for climbing, and when is the season?

Yes, and summit climbs run in spring, with about 80% of the 2026 Nepal-side summits between May 17 and May 26, while treks run in spring and autumn, as covered in the seasons section. Most spring summits land in a narrow window, so the weather decides the summit push on Everest Expedition Nepal just as it decides Lukla flights.

What is the cheapest way to see Everest?

The cheapest listing is the Everest Scenic Flight at $100 for a 2-hour trip with a 1-hour flight past Mount Everest at 8,848 m. If you want to land, the Everest Base Camp Helicopter Landing costs $1,600 for 5 to 6 hours, and the cheapest trek is Everest Base Camp 12 Days at $955.

How many days is the Everest Base Camp trek?

Most treks here run 12 to 14 days round trip, and the trail section breaks the stages down. The pick is the Everest Base Camp Trek 14 Days, there is a 12-day version with Everest Base Camp 12 Days at $955, and a helicopter return can cut three or four days.

The Everest Base Camp Trek 14 Days from Ace the Himalaya is the pick: $1,800 per person with Lukla flights and permits included, a 5.0 rating from 1,656 reviews and free cancellation to 6 days before.

Free cancellation to 6 full days before departure

Check Availability
Tours from $100 Check Availability