12 Day Everest Base Camp Trek
This 12 day Everest Base Camp trek is run by Welcome Nepal Treks P.Ltd and sells on GetYourGuide for $955 per person. It starts in Kathmandu, flies to Lukla and walks the tea house trail to Everest Base Camp at 5,364 m (17,598 ft) and up Kala Patthar at 5,545 m. The price is the lowest among the base camp listings in the catalog that include the Lukla flights, and the listing carries a 5.0 score from 29 verified reviews. This page sets out exactly what the price covers, what you pay on top, and why 12 days is a shorter schedule than most trekkers use. If the trade-off does not suit you, slower alternatives include a 14 day option with far more reviews among the Everest climbing tours.
About This Tour
Welcome Nepal Treks P.Ltd runs this guided trek from Kathmandu to Everest Base Camp and Kala Patthar over 12 days. The listing is sold on GetYourGuide in private or small groups with an English or German speaking guide. The route stops at Phakding, Namche Bazaar, Dingboche, Gorakshep and Kala Patthar, sleeping in lodges and tea houses along the way.
The $955 per person covers the return domestic flight between Kathmandu and Lukla, national park permits including Sagarmatha National Park entrance and TIMS card fees, three standard meals a day during the trek, the guide with salary, food, accommodation and insurance, and a night in Kathmandu after the return flight. A porter shared by 2 guests costs extra. Drinks, hot showers, internet, travel insurance and tips are not in the price.
$955, covering the Lukla return flight, permits, tea house lodging, trek meals and the guide. Porter service is optional at an additional cost.
12 days, starting and ending in Kathmandu.
Kathmandu, with hotel pickup and transfer to Tribhuvan International Airport for the flight to Lukla.
Kala Patthar at 5,545 m by the listing's figure, though sources vary. Everest Base Camp is 5,364 m (17,598 ft).
Flights are included. Extras are alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks, hot showers and internet during the trek, travel insurance, gratuities and the optional porter.
Free cancellation up to 24 hours before departure for a full refund. Reserve now and pay later is available.
Check Dates and Availability
Starting times are shown when you check availability. Free cancellation applies up to 24 hours before departure.
Quick answer The short answer
The 12 day Everest Base Camp trek costs $955 per person and includes the Kathmandu to Lukla return flight, permits, tea house lodging, three meals a day on the trail and a guide, with a 5.0 score from 29 GetYourGuide reviews.
Key takeaways
- The highest points are Kala Patthar at 5,545 m and Everest Base Camp at 5,364 m, both weather permitting. See the day by day route.
- Drinks, hot showers, internet, insurance, tips and the optional porter are extra. The breakdown is in what the price covers.
- 12 days is shorter than most schedules, so read the acclimatisation trade-off in altitude and season.
- If you want more rest days or more reviews, compare the 14 day Everest Base Camp trek or the helicopter return trek.
What the Price Actually Covers
At $955 per person this is the lowest-priced base camp trek in the catalog with flights included, so it is worth being precise about what that money buys and what it does not. The table below comes from the operator's own listing on GetYourGuide.
Included in the $955
The listing includes the return domestic flight between Kathmandu and Lukla, national park permits with Sagarmatha National Park entrance and TIMS card fees and all necessary paperwork, lodges and tea houses during the trek, a night in Kathmandu after the return flight, standard meals at breakfast, lunch and dinner during the trek, and an experienced guide whose salary, food, accommodation and insurance are covered. Hotel pickup in Kathmandu is part of the deal.
| Line | In the price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Kathmandu to Lukla return flight | Yes | Domestic flight, both ways |
| Permits and paperwork | Yes | National park permits, Sagarmatha National Park entrance, TIMS card fees |
| Lodging | Yes | Tea houses and lodges on the trek, plus a night in Kathmandu after the return flight |
| Meals | Trek only | Breakfast, lunch and dinner during the trek. Kathmandu meals are not mentioned as included |
| Guide | Yes | Salary, food, accommodation and insurance covered |
| Porter | No | Optional, one porter for 2 guests, at an additional cost |
| Drinks | No | Alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks excluded |
| Hot showers and internet | No | Excluded during the trek |
| Travel insurance | No | You arrange it yourself |
| Gratuities | No | Expected by guides and porters but not mandatory |
The Honest Note on the Price
The $955 does not cover everything you will spend. Drinks, showers, wifi, insurance, tips and the optional porter all come out of your own pocket, and meals in Kathmandu before and after the trek are not named as included. Teahouse extras are real money on this trail, with one guide estimating a hot shower at $4 to $6, device charging at $3 to $7 and a wifi card at $20 to $30.
Budget for them before you book rather than after. To see how this listing sits against the others, compare it on the Everest tours overview, and read the Everest Base Camp trek guide for the trail itself.
Sources: Best Heritage Tour teahouse costs
Dingboche at 4,440 m by the photographer's caption, with the Mahalangur Himal behind. Photo: Nirojsedhai, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons
The Route Day by Day
The listing names the overnight stops as Phakding, Namche Bazaar, Dingboche, Gorakshep and Kala Patthar, with an early flight from Kathmandu to Lukla and the tea house trail to base camp. The listing does not print a day-numbered itinerary, so the table below follows those stops in order and uses heights from the trek reference material. Rest days at Namche Bazaar and Dingboche are named in the operator's description.
The Trail in Order
You are picked up at your Kathmandu hotel and transferred to Tribhuvan International Airport for the flight to Lukla, where the walking starts. The trail passes through Phakding and climbs to Namche Bazaar, where the first acclimatisation day sits. Higher up, Dingboche holds the second rest day before the push to Gorakshep, Everest Base Camp and the climb of Kala Patthar, the highest point of the trip at 5,545 m.
The return retraces the route to Lukla for the flight back to Kathmandu and the included overnight there. No summit is promised on any fixed day, because weather and altitude decide both the Kala Patthar climb and the Lukla flights.
| Stage | Route | Height |
|---|---|---|
| Flight out | Kathmandu to Lukla | Lukla 2,846 m (9,337 ft) |
| Trek in | Lukla to Phakding | not stated |
| Trek in | Phakding to Namche Bazaar | Namche Bazaar 3,440 m (11,290 ft) |
| Rest day | Acclimatisation at Namche Bazaar | 3,440 m |
| Trek in | Namche Bazaar to Dingboche | Dingboche 4,260 m (13,980 ft), though another source gives 4,410 m |
| Rest day | Acclimatisation at Dingboche | 4,260 m |
| Trek in | Dingboche to Gorakshep | not stated |
| Highlight | Everest Base Camp | 5,364 m (17,598 ft) |
| Highlight | Kala Patthar | 5,545 m |
| Return | Gorakshep to Lukla, flight to Kathmandu | Lukla 2,846 m |
Sources: Everest Base Camp, Kala Patthar
Who This Trip Rules Out
The listing states few hard limits, which makes the unstated ones matter more. Here is who should look at a different trip, with the alternative attached.
Stated Limits
The listing states no minimum age, no fitness level and no difficulty rating, which means you must judge these yourself against the altitude. It is not suitable for pregnant women or people with heart problems, and not suitable for wheelchair users. Luggage or large bags are not allowed on the trip, and you need to bring a passport for the permits and flights. A jacket, sleeping bag and duffle bag can be used if requested.
The practical limits sit around the schedule and the price. 12 days is at the bottom of the usual 12 to 18 day range for the round trip from Lukla, so the two rest days carry all the acclimatisation work. The from-price also excludes drinks, showers, internet, insurance, tips and the porter, so the true trip cost is higher than $955. If any of that argues for a slower pace, the 14 day Everest Base Camp trek has 1,656 reviews and two more days for $1,800, and the lodge to lodge trek runs 14 days with a 15 to 70 age band.
Who Should Book Something Else
If you want to skip the walk out, the EBC trek with helicopter return flies from Gorakshep to Lukla in 12 days. If you would rather reach base camp by road on the Tibetan plateau, the Tibet Everest Base Camp tour runs 8 days from Lhasa to the north side at 5,200 m. If 5,545 m sounds too high altogether, the Everest Panorama trek tops out at Tengboche at 3,870 m (12,694 ft).
Sources: Ian Taylor Trekking on trip length
Everest from Kala Patthar. Photo: Bijay Chaurasia, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Altitude, Season and Paperwork
These points come from the researched reference material, not from the operator. They apply to any Everest Base Camp trek, including this one.
Season
The Everest region has two trekking seasons, spring from March to May and autumn from September to November. Nights at base camp are cold in both: one operator guide lists lows of -17C in March, -8C in May and -9C in October, and another lists -15C in March and -18C in November. Monsoon runs June to August, and December to February is the off-season.
Altitude and the 12 Day Trade-off
Altitude sickness typically occurs above 2,500 m and symptoms often show within ten hours of ascent. The common advice is to limit the height you sleep at, gaining about 300 to 500 m per day above 3,000 m, and to use climb high, sleep low, with one acclimatisation day for roughly every 1,000 m gained. This 12 day itinerary uses its two rest days at Namche Bazaar at 3,440 m and Dingboche at 4,260 m.
That is the standard pair of acclimatisation stops, but with fewer total days than the usual 12 to 18 day range for the round trip, the schedule is tighter than a 14 day version. Go slow above Namche, drink more water than feels natural, and turn back or descend if symptoms worsen, because no itinerary overrides how your body reacts.
Lukla Flights
The Kathmandu to Lukla flight takes about 35 minutes into Tenzing-Hillary Airport, whose runway is 527 m (1,729 ft) long with an 11.7% gradient. Strong southwest winds usually close the airport from mid to late morning, so flights run early. Visibility closes Lukla about half the time during the monsoon.
In busy seasons flights can be redirected through Ramechhap, about 140 km and roughly 5 hours by road from Kathmandu. Weather cancellations are a normal part of this trip, and one operator suggests keeping about $500 one way available for a helicopter if a flight is cancelled. Neither the flight nor the summit view is guaranteed.
Permits, Visa and Insurance
This trek includes its permits, which are the Sagarmatha National Park entry permit, listed at NPR 3,000 for foreigners, and the TIMS card fees. The Khumbu Pasang Lhamu Rural Municipality fee is listed at NPR 2,000 by one source and NPR 3,000 since 2026 by another, and this listing names only all necessary paperwork. Nepal's tourist visa on arrival at Tribhuvan International Airport costs $30 (USD 30) for 15 days, $50 (USD 50) for 30 days and $125 (USD 125) for 90 days.
Travel insurance is not included, so buy a policy that covers trekking to at least 6,000 m, because helicopter evacuation above 5,000 m costs roughly $6,000 to $10,000 or more. Read the Everest Base Camp guide and the Sagarmatha National Park guide before you go.
Sources: Altitude sickness, Tenzing-Hillary Airport, Kandoo Adventures, Nepal embassy visa fees
Trip Phases
The listing does not print numbered days, so these phases follow the named stops and the two rest days in the operator's description.
-
Arrival
Kathmandu pickup and flight to Lukla
Hotel pickup in Kathmandu and transfer to Tribhuvan International Airport for the early domestic flight to Lukla at 2,846 m (9,337 ft). Flights run early because winds close the strip later in the day.
-
Trek in
Lukla to Namche Bazaar via Phakding
The walk starts along the Dudh Koshi valley through Phakding and climbs to Namche Bazaar at 3,440 m (11,290 ft), the main trading centre of the region.
-
Rest day
Acclimatisation at Namche Bazaar
The first of the two rest days named in the listing. Sleep low, walk high, and let your body adjust before the trail climbs past 4,000 m.
-
Trek in
Namche Bazaar to Dingboche
The trail climbs through the high valley to Dingboche at 4,260 m (13,980 ft), the second acclimatisation stop on the itinerary.
-
Rest day
Acclimatisation at Dingboche
The second rest day. From here on the sleeping heights sit above 4,000 m, so this day carries most of the load before the final push.
-
Base camp day
Gorakshep, Everest Base Camp and Kala Patthar
The trail moves to Gorakshep, then to Everest Base Camp at 5,364 m (17,598 ft) and up Kala Patthar at 5,545 m, the highest point of the trek. Weather and altitude decide both.
-
Return
Back to Lukla and Kathmandu
The route retraces the trail to Lukla for the return flight, followed by the included overnight in Kathmandu.
Pros and Cons
An honest read of this listing against the others in the catalog.
What we genuinely like
- The lowest-priced base camp trek in the catalog with the Lukla flights included, at $955 per person
- A 5.0 score from 29 verified GetYourGuide bookings, with the guide rated 4.9 and transport 5.0
- Permits, trek meals, tea house lodging and the guide's insurance are all in the price
- Free cancellation up to 24 hours before departure, and reserve now, pay later
- Private or small groups with an English or German speaking guide
The honest downsides
- 12 days sits at the bottom of the usual 12 to 18 day range for the round trip from Lukla, so the acclimatisation schedule is tighter than a 14 day trek
- Drinks, hot showers, internet, travel insurance, gratuities and the porter are all excluded, so the real trip cost is well above the from-price
- The listing states no fitness or difficulty rating and no minimum age, so you must judge your own readiness
- Lukla flights can be disrupted by weather, which can shorten or reshuffle the itinerary
- With 29 reviews it has far fewer than the 1,656 reviews on the 14 day alternative
Who it's NOT for: Not for pregnant women, people with heart problems, wheelchair users, or anyone who wants a generous acclimatisation margin, a porter included, or a booking backed by hundreds of reviews.
Questions About This Trek
How much does the 12 day Everest Base Camp trek cost?
It costs $955 per person, which includes the return Kathmandu to Lukla flight, permits, tea house lodging, three meals a day on the trek and the guide. Drinks, showers, internet, insurance, tips and the optional porter are extra. Compare it with the 14 day trek at $1,800.
Is 12 days enough time to reach Everest Base Camp safely?
12 days is at the low end of the usual 12 to 18 day range for the round trip from Lukla. The itinerary uses both standard acclimatisation stops at Namche Bazaar and Dingboche, but the schedule is tighter than a 14 day version. Read the acclimatisation advice in the Everest Base Camp trek guide before deciding.
Are the Lukla flights included in the price?
Yes, the return domestic flight between Kathmandu and Lukla is in the $955. Weather can still cancel or delay these flights, especially in monsoon when visibility closes the airport about half the time. The Lukla airport guide explains why.
Which permits do I need and are they included?
Yes, the listing includes national park permits, the Sagarmatha National Park entrance and TIMS card fees with all necessary paperwork. The park entry is listed at NPR 3,000 for foreigners. See the Sagarmatha National Park guide for the background.
What is the highest point of the trek?
Kala Patthar at 5,545 m is the highest point, with Everest Base Camp at 5,364 m (17,598 ft). Both depend on weather and how you acclimatise. The Kala Patthar guide covers the climb from Gorakshep.
Do I need travel insurance for this trek?
Yes, travel insurance is not included and you must arrange your own. Take a policy covering trekking to at least 6,000 m, because helicopter evacuation above 5,000 m is quoted at roughly $6,000 to $10,000 or more. The same applies on the helicopter return trek.
How does this trek compare with the Tibet side base camp?
This trek walks in from Lukla on the Nepal side to base camp at 5,364 m over 12 days. The Tibet Everest Base Camp tour reaches the north side at 5,200 m in 8 days by vehicle from Lhasa, with the Tibet permit included but the flight or train to Lhasa not.
What Travelers Said
The trek to Everest base camp was amazing. My guide was very helpful, informative and kind. Communication from the company was prompt the entire time.
I absolutely loved this trek! Every day had a new challenge and new sights to see. What made our trek the best however was our fantastic guide Mohan! Anyone thinking of booking with this company ask for him because he was incredible. He was attentive and caring and was completely at our pace in every step of the way.
It was an amazing trip! Padam Bahadur bhujel is a very good guide, he knows the mountains really good. It is an adventure of a lifetime, so happy to reach the goal.
Prices, availability and terms are set by the operator and confirmed at checkout.
We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure