Everest Climbing ToursAn Independent Guide Check Availability

Everest Base Camp Trek with Helicopter Return

5.0/5 42 Viator reviews From $2,250 per person12 daysAll sales final

Sold and operated by Luxury Holidays Nepal Pvt. Ltd.. Booked and paid through Viator. We may earn a commission if you book through our link, at no extra cost to you. Price and details checked 2026-10-17.

The Everest Base Camp trek with helicopter return is a 12-day trip run by Luxury Holidays Nepal Pvt. Ltd. that walks the classic Khumbu trail to Base Camp and Kala Patthar, then swaps the long walk down for a helicopter flight from Gorak Shep to Lukla. The price is $2,250 per person and it includes the Lukla flights, the permits, a licensed guide and porters, guesthouse beds on the trail and a 3-star hotel in Kathmandu. It does not include any meals during the trek, and all sales are final. This page sets out what the price covers, the day-by-day route and who should look at other Everest climbing tours instead. Compare it with the other Mount Everest climbing tours.

Trek group with flags at the Everest Base Camp 5364 m rock on an Everest climbing tour with helicopter return, Nepal
5.0★42 reviews
$2,250per person
12 daysduration
Freecancellation 24h
Check Availability

About This Tour

Luxury Holidays Nepal runs this 12-day Everest Base Camp trek on Viator. It treks in from Lukla through Namche Bazaar, Tengboche and Dingboche, reaches Base Camp on day 9 and hikes Kala Patthar on day 10, then flies by helicopter from Gorak Shep back to Lukla. From Lukla a fixed-wing flight returns to Kathmandu. The trip has a 5.0 rating from 42 verified reviews on Viator and Tripadvisor, runs as a private or group booking of up to 15 people and needs at least a moderate level of fitness.

The helicopter saves roughly two walking days on the descent compared with the same operator's normal 14-day version, which returns on foot via Pheriche, Namche Bazaar and Lukla. The trade-off is price and flexibility. Meals on the trek are not in the price, and the operator offers no refund for any cancellation, so read the fine print before you pay.

Price
$2,250 per person. Covers the guide and porters, guesthouse lodging on the trek, a 3-star hotel in Kathmandu with breakfast, the Lukla flights, the helicopter from Gorak Shep to Lukla, the three trekking permits, trekking gear (duffel bag, sleeping bag, T-shirt and map) and a farewell dinner with a cultural show.
Duration
12 days, including arrival and departure days in Kathmandu, two acclimatisation days and the helicopter return.
Start and finish
Starts in Kathmandu with private vehicle transfer and hotel pickup on arrival, and returns to Kathmandu on day 11.
Highest point
Kala Patthar, reached on day 10. The listing prints no height for it. It is commonly listed at 5,545 to 5,550 m, and Everest Base Camp itself is 5,364 m (17,598 ft).
Paid on top
International flights, the Nepal visa on arrival, travel insurance and personal expenses, lunch and dinner in Kathmandu and all meals during the trek. No mandatory extras are stated beyond that, but the food bill on the trail is yours.
Cancellation
All sales final. No refund is available for cancellations, at any notice period.
Quick answer Price, duration and the catch

The Everest Base Camp trek with helicopter return costs $2,250 per person, runs 12 days from Kathmandu and carries a 5.0 rating from 42 reviews. Lukla flights, permits, the helicopter from Gorak Shep, a guide and porters are included. All meals during the trek are not included, and all sales are final with no refund for cancellations.

Key takeaways

What the Price Actually Covers

The $2,250 price covers the transport, permits, lodging and guiding. It does not cover your food on the trail or any refund if you cancel. The figures below come from the operator's own listing on Viator. The biggest gap is food. Breakfast in Kathmandu and one farewell dinner are in the price, and nothing else on the meal front is. On a 9-day trek that is a real budget line: teahouse guides estimate meals at $7-$12 each, a hot shower at $4-$6 and charging at $3-$7, all paid by you because the guesthouse beds are covered but the services inside them are not. Travel insurance is also yours to arrange, and it should cover helicopter evacuation at the altitudes on this route.

Included and Not Included

The listing is clear about both lists. The table shows each line, whether the price carries it, and what to plan for if it does not.

LineIn the priceNotes
Kathmandu or Manthali to Lukla flights, round tripYesDomestic flights named in the inclusions
Helicopter from Gorak Shep to LuklaYesThe reason this trip is 12 days, not 14
Sagarmatha National Park, TIMS and Pasang Lhamu permitsYesAll three entry permits listed as included
Kathmandu hotel, 3-starYesBreakfast included, lunch and dinner not
Guesthouses on the trekYesStandard lodging, room only
Guide and portersYesLicensed English-speaking guide
Trekking gearYesDuffel bag, sleeping bag, T-shirt and map
Farewell dinnerYesNepali cuisine with a cultural show
All meals during the trekNoBreakfast, lunch and dinner on the trail are yours to buy
International flights and Nepal visaNoVisa on arrival, paid by you
Travel insuranceNoArrange cover with helicopter evacuation before you fly
RefundsNoAll sales final, no refund for cancellations

Sources: Wikipedia, Mount Everest, Wikipedia, Sagarmatha National Park

Tents of Everest Base Camp on the Khumbu Glacier, the goal of Everest climbing tours, Nepal

Everest Base Camp on the Khumbu Glacier. Photo: Nirojsedhai, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

The Route Day by Day

This is the operator's own 12-day itinerary from the listing. Two acclimatisation days break up the climb, Base Camp falls on day 9 and the helicopter out of Gorak Shep comes on day 10. The listing prints no heights, so the figures below are the heights the trail research gives for each stop. The walk in follows the classic Khumbu trail, roughly 65 km one way from Lukla to Everest Base Camp, or about 130 km round trip if you walked both ways. The helicopter cuts the return leg to a short flight. The same operator's normal 14-day version walks back down via Pheriche, Namche Bazaar and Lukla on the same trail.

12 Days, Lukla to Gorak Shep and Out by Air

Day numbers are the operator's. Heights are from trail research where the listing gives none.

DayRouteHeight
1Arrive in Kathmandu1,400 m, city elevation not stated in the listing
2Fly or drive to Lukla, trek to PhakdingLukla 2,846 m (9,337 ft)
3Trek to Namche Bazaar3,440 m (11,290 ft)
4Acclimatisation day in Namche3,440 m, sleep at the same height
5Trek to TengbocheTengboche Monastery 3,867 m
6Trek to Dingboche4,260 m (13,980 ft), another source gives 4,410 m
7Acclimatisation dayDingboche area
8Trek to Lobuchenot stated
9Trek to Everest Base Camp, overnight at Gorak ShepBase Camp 5,364 m (17,598 ft)
10Hike Kala Patthar, helicopter to LuklaKala Patthar commonly listed at 5,545 to 5,550 m, height not stated in the listing
11Fly back to Kathmandunot stated
12Final departurenot stated

Who This Trip Rules Out

The listing states hard limits on age, fitness, health and money. Check each one before you book, because this operator gives no refunds.

Health, Age and Fitness Limits

The booking age band runs from 8 to 70. You need at least a moderate level of physical fitness, and the listing is explicit about who it does not want: travellers with spinal injuries, pregnant travellers and people with poor cardiovascular health. The highest point is Kala Patthar, above 5,500 m on most readings, so altitude is a medical fact on this trip and not a marketing line.

If you want the Himalayas with far less height, the Everest Panorama Trek tops out at Tengboche at 3,870 m (12,694 ft).

Money and Flexibility Limits

All sales are final. No refund is available for cancellations at any point, so a family illness or a cancelled international flight costs you the full $2,250. All meals during the trek are extra, on top of the price.

If that risk does not suit you, the Everest Base Camp Trek 14 Days has free cancellation up to 6 days before departure and the Everest Base Camp 12 Days walks the descent instead of flying it, at $955.

Weather and Flight Risk

The trip depends on two aircraft: the fixed-wing flight to Lukla and the helicopter out of Gorak Shep. Lukla flights are weather-dependent and visibility closes the airport about half the time in the monsoon, with flights typically scheduled early because southwest winds close the runway from mid to late morning. If the helicopter cannot fly on day 10, the fallback is not stated in the listing, so ask the operator before booking what happens if the weather grounds it.

A no-refund contract plus weather risk is the combination to think hardest about.

The runway at Tenzing-Hillary Airport in Lukla where Everest climbing tours begin the trek, Nepal

Tenzing-Hillary Airport in Lukla. Photo: Vyacheslav Argenberg, CC BY 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Altitude, Season and Paperwork

Three things decide whether this trip works: how you acclimatise, when you go and whether your papers are in order. The advice below comes from published trail and health research.

Altitude and Acclimatisation

Altitude sickness typically occurs above 2,500 m and symptoms often appear within ten hours of ascent. Standard advice is to ascend no more than 300 m (1,000 ft) per day once you sleep above 3,000 m, and to use climb high, sleep low. This itinerary follows that shape: it sleeps at Namche Bazaar at 3,440 m on day 3, holds an acclimatisation day there on day 4, then a second rest day at Dingboche on day 7 before moving to Lobuche, Gorak Shep and Kala Patthar.

Keep those rest days even if you feel strong. Read more on the Kala Patthar guide.

Season and Lukla Logistics

The trekking seasons in the Everest region run from March to May and September to November. Night lows at Base Camp reach -17C in March, -8C in May and -9C to -12C in October and November. Lukla's Tenzing-Hillary Airport has a 527 m (1,729 ft) runway with an 11.7% gradient, and in busy periods flights often operate from Manthali in Ramechhap instead of Kathmandu, which the listing already covers in its flight inclusions.

Weather cancels flights often enough that keeping a buffer day in Kathmandu is wise. The Lukla airport guide has the detail.

Permits, Visa and Insurance

The operator includes the Sagarmatha National Park permit, the TIMS card and the Khumbu Pasang Lhamu entry permit, so you do not buy them separately. You do need a Nepal visa on arrival, which costs 30 USD for 15 days, 50 USD for 30 days and 125 USD for 90 days at Tribhuvan International Airport. Travel insurance is not included and you should buy a policy that covers trekking to at least 6,000 m, since helicopter evacuation from above 5,000 m is commonly quoted at $6,000 to $10,000 or more and you would pay it yourself without cover.

The Sagarmatha National Park guide covers the park rules.

The Trip in Phases

The operator's day numbers, grouped into the phases that matter.

  1. Day 1

    Arrival

    Land in Kathmandu. A private vehicle transfer and hotel pickup are included, and you sleep in a 3-star hotel with breakfast provided.

  2. Day 2

    Fly to Lukla and trek in

    An early domestic flight from Kathmandu or Manthali to Lukla at 2,846 m, then the first walking day to Phakding.

  3. Days 3 to 7

    Trek in and acclimatise

    Namche Bazaar on day 3 at 3,440 m, a full acclimatisation day there, then Tengboche on day 5, Dingboche on day 6 and a second acclimatisation day on day 7.

  4. Days 8 to 9

    To Base Camp

    Lobuche on day 8, then Everest Base Camp at 5,364 m (17,598 ft) on day 9, sleeping at Gorak Shep.

  5. Day 10

    Kala Patthar and helicopter out

    Hike Kala Patthar, then board the helicopter from Gorak Shep to Lukla. Weather decides whether this flight runs.

  6. Days 11 to 12

    Return

    Fly Lukla to Kathmandu on day 11. The farewell dinner with a cultural show is included. Depart on day 12.

Pros and Cons

An honest read of this listing against the others on the site.

What we genuinely like

  • The helicopter from Gorak Shep cuts about two walking days off the descent compared with the operator's own 14-day version
  • Lukla flights, all three permits, guide, porters, lodging and trekking gear are in the $2,250 price
  • Two acclimatisation days at Namche Bazaar and Dingboche follow standard altitude advice
  • 5.0 rating from 42 verified reviews on Viator and Tripadvisor
  • Booking age band of 8 to 70

The honest downsides

  • All sales are final, with no refund for cancellations at any notice period
  • All meals during the trek are not included, a real cost on the trail at an estimated $7-$12 per meal
  • The listing prints no height for Kala Patthar and no fallback if the helicopter cannot fly
  • It costs more than the 12-day walking version at $955 and the refundable 14-day trek at $1,800
  • Travel insurance, the Nepal visa and international flights are all on top

Who it's NOT for: Not for anyone who needs a refundable booking, has a spinal injury, is pregnant, has poor cardiovascular health, or wants meals included in the price.

Questions About This Tour

How much does the Everest Base Camp trek with helicopter return cost?

$2,250 per person on the listing from Luxury Holidays Nepal. It covers flights, permits, the helicopter, guide, porters and lodging but not meals on the trek. Compare it with the Everest Base Camp 12 Days at $955, which walks back down.

Is the helicopter return guaranteed?

No. Weather and altitude decide, and the listing states no fallback if the helicopter cannot fly from Gorak Shep on day 10. Ask the operator directly, or consider the Everest Base Camp Trek 14 Days which needs no helicopter at all.

What is the highest point on this trek?

Kala Patthar, hiked on day 10. The listing prints no height. Trail research commonly lists it at 5,545 to 5,550 m, and Everest Base Camp is 5,364 m (17,598 ft). The Kala Patthar guide explains the height dispute.

Do I need to buy permits separately?

No. The Sagarmatha National Park permit, the TIMS card and the Khumbu Pasang Lhamu entry permit are all listed as included. The Nepal visa on arrival is not, at 30 USD for 15 days, 50 USD for 30 days or 125 USD for 90 days. See the Everest Base Camp trek guide for how permits work.

Can I get a refund if I cancel?

No. All sales are final and no refund is available for cancellations, whatever the notice period. If you want flexibility, the Everest Base Camp Trek 14 Days offers free cancellation up to 6 days before departure.

How fit do I need to be?

The listing asks for at least a moderate level of physical fitness, and rules out travellers with spinal injuries, pregnancy and poor cardiovascular health. One published estimate puts the uphill on the standard round trip from Lukla at about 5,585 m. A shorter option is the Everest Panorama Trek, which tops out at 3,870 m.

Can I see Everest by helicopter without trekking?

Yes. The Everest Base Camp Helicopter Landing flies from Kathmandu, lands at Base Camp and Kala Patthar if the weather allows and takes 5 to 6 hours for $1,600. It is a day trip with no acclimatisation trekking, which is a different risk profile from walking high.

The 12-day Everest Base Camp trek with helicopter return from Luxury Holidays Nepal is bookable now at $2,250 per person. Meals on the trek are at your own cost and all sales are final.

Bookings are made on the platform, and all sales are final on this listing with no refund for cancellations.

Check Availability

Prices, availability and terms are set by the operator and confirmed at checkout.

We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure

From $2,250 per person Check Availability